A little more about FeistyEats

Since I am on my way to happy hour and haven’t cooked anything in a bit…a little filler for you! I didn’t have time to proof, so good luck trying to make this out!

1. Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Sawyer, ND, population about 300. Sawyer is a bedroom community to
Minot, the 4th largest city in ND.

2. Where do you live?

Currently, I live along in a bi-level house just south of Fargo city limits
with my 100 lb. yellow lab, Winston and 6 lb. cat, Brinklie, aka FeistyCat. My
husband, Mr. FeistyEats, lives in our camper in a RV Park in Hazen, ND. Sounds
pretty redneck, right? If things go as planned, we will be living together by
the end of this month in a house in Hazen.

3. What are your favorite TV shows?

Once we move to Hazen, I hope to cut our TV watching, at least during the
warmer months. One big reason for our move is less stress. Money really doesn’t
solve all your problems. I know some people think we are crazy for moving
there, but screw them! We want this to be happy for us. TV shows I currently
enjoy would be Biggest Loser, Grey’s Anatomy, The Voice, CMT music videos and
more. Mr. FeistyEats like UFC shows and Swamp People.

4. Do you volunteer or go to church?

We belong to a church. We certainly could be better about attending. Again,
once we move I hope to get involved in the community and back to a smaller
church versus the monster church we belong to in Fargo. They do great things,
but I prefer a smaller setting.

5. What are your favorite sports teams?

College football: I really have never cared for football. My hometown didn’t
even have their own HS team. After living in Fargo though, I do cheer for the
NDSU Bison. College hockey: I love the UND Sioux. Pro teams: I don’t care much
about those either, but I married a life-long Pittsburgh Steelers fan. If I
cheered for anyone else, divorce might be imminent. Go Steelers. I don’t like
the Vikings at all, even though they are generally thought of as ND’s team due
to proximity to MN.

6. What made you interested in cooking?

I have always loved food and experimenting with different ways of eating.
Vegetarian, low-fat, low-carb, I have tried it all. My Mom always made us kid’s
dinner and packed lunch for my Dad. I worked at the local diner starting at age
13 and got to see how it was run. My Mom is a great cook and so is my Mom’s
Mom. My Dad’s Mom had some traditional German/Norwegian foods she would make
and I found it all interesting. Just in the past 5 years, I have gotten more
interested in trying new recipes. Some are definitely flops, but I think that
Mr. FeistyEats and I have enjoyed the various recipes. Cooking blogs give me
inspiration.

7. What made you decide to start this blog?

I wanted to start this blog to stay accountable to continue trying new recipes.
I figured as a blogger, I couldn’t go weeks or months without updating my site,
so this forces me to keep cooking. It has already morphed into being somewhat
about my personal life and it is a good way to share things with my Mom, who I
know actually cares. I don’t have many readers, but appreciate the ones that do
check in!

8. How do decide who cooks what in your
house?

Generally, I always cook. However, Mr. FeistyEats is a great cook. He does not,
ever, bake though. He is a great griller and is especially good at preparing
meat dishes and loves to smoke ribs, loins, etc. He is an accomplished hunter
and his game does not go to waste. At any given time, our freezer might have:
pheasant, duck, fish, partridge, deer, elk or moose. I am pretty adventurous about
trying game but I don’t care much for birds (except chicken and turkey) or
fish. I love deer and elk. One of the sweetest things Mr. FeistyEats said to me
while we have been living apart is: “I miss your cooking.” Awwww.

9. Does your dog eat the meals you cook?

Generally, we try to feed him only dog food. But yes, he would eat anything. I
have seen him eat grapes, bones, onion, lettuce, cookies (stole one off the
table), cheese, etc. He is a beast. FeistyCat is more subdued and doesn’t
really care for food – she’d rather play with it.

10. Where do you shop for groceries and how
often do you go shopping?

My favorite store ever is Hornbacher’s. They have a great selection and good
prices. I do fill in the gaps with items from Sam’s, Wal*Mart and the Farmer’s
Market when in season. I don’t even want to THINK about what I have spent at
Hornbacher’s. I go there at least once a week. Our new town has a Krause’s and
it looks great – it’ll be my new Hornbacher’s. Except, they do have a leg up on
Hornbacher’s as they have a liquor store attached.

11. What is your favorite meal to cook and
eat?

Oh man, that is hard to say. I love fresh vegetables grilled, roasted or in a
salad. I love grilled burgers and pork chops. I do not care much for pasta
dishes – they just make me feel, ugh. I would like to make some pasta dishes
with less pasta and more veggies as fillers. That will give me something to do!
As far as baking, I like to make cookies and bars. I do love to go out to eat
and try different restaurants.

12. What is your favorite restaurant?

I don’t know if I have a favorite. I do love Old Chicago for their selection of
beers and excellent happy hour. As far as just food though? I can’t say there
is a regular standby. I am still looking for it!

13. How did you come up with your blog name?

My last name is Feist. I am feisty and I love to eat!

14. How do you decide what to make for dinner
each night?

I try to meal plan for the work week. I find it helpful to prep lunches and
breakfasts on Sunday or Monday night. When we grill or prepare meat, we always
take the item out of the freezer to let thaw in the fridge overnight, that way
we aren’t tempted to go out to eat or eat crap food. I always have a veggie
with a meal and Mr. FeistyEats usually likes a salad or bread with his dinner.
Sometimes, it doesn’t work. And I should be better about preparing food on
weekends. We typically make a big weekend breakfast but we eat out for dinner.
I ask Mr. FeistyEats what he wants, as I can get stuck in a rut. If I find a
recipe online I email it to myself to make sure to put any missing ingredients
on my shopping list. A shopping list is a MUST. I even got Mr. FeistyEats to
write on the list when we are out of something.

15. What is your favorite seasoning to use
while cooking?

I love Lawry’s Seasoned salt on just about anything. I am loving fresh basil
this summer.

16. What is the best meal you have ever had?

I have had some amazing foods from great places. I had excellent pizza in the
Netherlands, Jamaica and in Fargo. I had a great salad at Applebee’s. I love
fresh caprese salads, etc. I tend to remember food by what I was doing when I
was eating it. If it was a special memory – simple French fries after drinking
with my husband and new friends on our honeymoon – that makes it a great meal
for me. I will always love eating at various places and trying new foods. It is
truly the experience that makes the meal for me.

 

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

