Ode to eggs

Happy Monday bloggies! I hope you all had a good weekend. Mine was great. Mr. FeistyEats was back in Fargo to load up some of our belongings to move to Hazen. We are so lucky to have such great friends who are helping us with this move. I feel very fortunate to have some good things happening in my life right now. At the same time, I feel really quite guilty as so many of my friends are having a difficult time. In particular, many people in the city of Minot are being evacuated for a second time as officials are calling for record breaking flooding. It sounds truly devastating and I can only wish the best for the residents of Minot and all the other communities along the Mouse River, including those in Canada and my hometown of Sawyer, ND.

Due to the move, I have packed a lot of my kitchen items. I did want to have something quick and easy for Mr. FeistyEats and I for the weekend when hunger struck. One of my first thoughts was egg salad! I love this cool, refreshing, creamy egg mixture on warm days. In fact, I love almost anything made of eggs. They are nearly a perfect food! Breakfast, baking, lunch, dinner, there are endless ways to prepare eggs. Here is how I make my egg salad. Keep in mind that this is versatile and you can really add anything you want.

DSCN3672DSCN3673

I started by boiling a half dozen eggs. As an egg lover, I used to always hate preparing eggs in any fashion where I would have to boil them. I HATED PEELING eggs. I always messed it up. One of Mr. FeistyEats friends loves pickled eggs and makes them all the time. He said he never has problems peeling eggs. We asked his secret. He said he puts the eggs in the pot, turns on the heat and once they start boiling he lets them go for 10 minutes and takes them off of the heat. No putting in boiling water, cooling them in an ice bath or a variety of other tricks I have heard. The verdict? This works! So far every time I have done it, it works. And I don’t have that ugly grey ring on the outside of the yolk either.

DSCN3674DSCN3675

Luckily, I hadn’t packed this handy device that does great on dicing eggs.

DSCN3676

What I put into this batch of egg salad: regular yellow mustard, garlic powder, black pepper, pickle juice, Worcestershire sauce, mayo and celery salt. FYI – celery salt adds a real nice touch to your egg salad.

DSCN3677

Mix it up and taste test. If needed, add more mustard or whatever else you might need. Be sure to keep this in the nice, cold fridge.

DSCN3702

I enjoyed my egg salad on a sandwich thin with some spinach. So great. Also – do you like Winston’s treat jar? He is a perfect pooch!

I originally had a different idea for tonight’s post. I was going to do a restaurant review, I even took pictures, but in the end, it was not a favorable review and I wasn’t sure I wanted to have a down post at this time. Instead – you get the wonder of eggs.

Here are a couple pictures of our lives being moved 4 hours to the west:

DSCN3698

Trailer one going to Hazen. Thanks so much to Mr. FeistyEats for driving so much and handling most all of the important details for us. He is great.

DSCN3699

Necessities of packing: beer, boxes and plumber’s putty.

DSCN3700

FeistyCat and Winston sad to see Mr. FeistyEats leave. Me too, I can’t wait until we are back in a house and settled. Soon!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Feisty Eats. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

