Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

I love cauliflower.

DSCN3663

Garlic mashed cauliflower? Now, that just sets it over the top, man! I have made variations of the good recipe, but when I came across it again – I knew it had to be in my belly.

Ingredients

  • 1 medium head cauliflower
  • 1 tablespoon cream cheese, softened
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan
  • 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1/8 teaspoon straight chicken base or bullion (may substitute 1/2 teaspoon salt)
  • 1/8 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon chopped fresh or dry chives, for garnish
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter

Directions

Set a stockpot of water to boil over high heat.

Clean and cut cauliflower into small pieces. Cook in boiling water for about 6 minutes, or until well done. Drain well; do not let cool and pat cooked cauliflower very dry between several layers of paper towels.

In a bowl with an immersion blender, or in a food processor, puree the hot cauliflower with the cream cheese, Parmesan, garlic, chicken base, and pepper until almost smooth.
Garnish with chives, and serve hot with pats of butter.

Hint: Try roasting the garlic and adding a little fresh rosemary for a whole new taste.

So…I forgot where I got that recipe. I usually try to include the link because I did not make this up. So I am sorry for that error. Naturally, I didn’t follow the recipe anyway. Here we go!

DSCN3649

I had other food to prep for the weekend and as I always say – it is so much easier to prep everything at once time and get it done. So get all your ingredients or food prep items you want ready.

DSCN3650DSCN3651

This cauliflower had been in my fridge for a while and had a few spots. Ain’t no thang, just cut them off with a knife.

DSCN3652DSCN3653

While you chop put a covered pan on with water to boil. I would have steamed this if my steamer wasn’t packed. Doh! Chop up your cauli – it doesn’t matter what it looks like because you will mash it soon anyway.

DSCN3654

Hey, did you know you can eat and cook these parts too? This is the bottom of the veggie where there isn’t any floret. I used to always throw these away but you can eat these and also the bottoms of broccoli. They are good. Maybe that means I’m stupid, but maybe you are stupid too and didn’t know that.

DSCN3655DSCN3656

Throw your cauli in the pan or pot and cover it until it boils and gets tender. While that is cooking, chop up some green onion. Quick story, at a work event someone mentioned onions and a co-worker says do you like onions, Sarah? I said yes, I love onions! She laughed and was like, uh, yeah, I read your blog. I know you like onions. Kind of funny. I always think of my “work” person as different from my “online” person.

DSCN3657

In just a few minutes your cauli is cooked and ready to go. I have read online that you shouldn’t take dark photos or pictures of food with steam coming off of it. However, I am not a photographer – I cook, I like to eat food, so you have to put up with my sucky photos!

The recipe says to strain and pat dry the cauliflower. Well, my strainer is packed so I did the “Mom” strain method I have seen my Mom do before. Just crack the lid and dump the water down the drain. Then, I sat the pot back on the warm burner to burn off any extra moisture. Perfect! And you save yourself a dish.

DSCN3658

Here is what went in MY garlic mashed cauliflower, not following the recipe here. Butter, black pepper, green onions, garlic powder, chicken base and some Laughing Cow cheese. The Colby Jack cheese is to top the cauliflower with.

The recipe calls for you to “mash” your cauliflower with an immersion blender or food processor, of which, I have both…packed.

DSCN3659

Look at this crazy face laying there like a fat, little turd!

DSCN3660DSCN3661

After mashing the cauliflower (with a fork and that worked fine), I went back to add in one more cheese wedge and about 1 Tbsp. of milk. After I poured the milk I noticed the Jun 01 best buy date. Luckily, this was just a suggestion as the milk was still OK. It is about gone so that is good.

DSCN3662

I think it would have been more creamy with an immersion stick or processor, but this turned out just fine. In fact, I could have eaten that whole dish!

DSCN3663DSCN3664

I topped my cauliflower with freshly shredded Colby Jack cheese. Get in mah belly!

Have a great weekend. Mr. FeistyEats is coming to Fargo after he is done working and I am excited to see his face again!

DSCN3671DSCN3679

Now – I have to go deal with these…(Winston was eating something I had dropped on the floor!) …dishes. I made a bunch of other food so I better clean up now. It is more fun if you set the timer for 5 or 10 minutes and see if you can get them all done, dried and put away. At least, it is for me, but as I mentioned above – I can be pretty stupid sometimes!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Sides, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

