Buckeyes

Well what a rainy, dreary day in Fargo, ND today. It is the middle of June and we have had hardly any sunny, nice days? What is a girl to do? Turn to peanut butter you say? OK! I am pretty sure it is well-known that I love peanut butter. In fact, one year at our staff Christmas party I was gifted with a few jars of peanut butter and that was one of my favorite gifts. It was really good peanut butter too. I’m not really a peanut butter snob, I don’t care if it is name brand or store brand. Of course, I do have some favorites but any peanut butter is a-OK with me – even chunky.

I have felt like baking but as I have mentioned, a lot of my kitchen stuff is packed away and it just isn’t fun baking for one person. I did recently purchase a 3-pack of peanut butter because it was on a really awesome sale at Hornbacher’s. After I brought it home I thought how stupid was that? I am moving in days and I am buying more stuff to haul 300 miles away? Doh! So as any self-respecting person would do, I thought up how I could use this food in a new (to me) recipe. One that came to mind was buckeyes! Have you ever had these? They are super easy to assemble, do not require an oven and take little time. I think I had my answer.

DSCN3620

Look at the piles of ingredients that go into these. OK, just kidding. How can you possibly go wrong with peanut butter, butter, vanilla and powdered sugar? That’s it kids. That is all it takes for these treat. I guess they aren’t cookies – treats or goodies, I guess you could say.

DSCN3621DSCN3622

PB, butter and vanilla – cream it up nice and smooth!

So why are these tasty little morsels called buckeyes? Well, because they look like the nut from a buckeye tree – the Ohio State tree.

DSCN3623

Follow the recipe closely. You will need anywhere from 2-4 cups of powdered sugar depending on if you sift it or not. Guess what? My sifter is packed. Actually, it is just a colander I use as a sifter – thrifty or cheap? Whatever!

DSCN3624DSCN3627

Horrible light, but my sous chefs don’t care. Looks at those lazy animals!

This couldn’t really be any easier. I didn’t even have to get out the huge Kitchen Aid for this recipe. Mr. FeistyEats is urging me to pack more items for our 4 hour move to the Hazen area. I am kind of struggling with what to pack as I have already wanted for a few things that have been boxed away. He said eventually I would have to pack my treasured mixer as well. Little does he know that I plan to plop her in my front seat and buckle her in for the move. Animals in the backseat, kitchen mixer in the front. Ain’t no shame!

DSCN3628DSCN3629DSCN3630

Add enough p. sugar until you can form balls that a toothpick will stick into. I fit all my balls on one cookie sheet. After you measure them out (I used a heaping tsp.) you can just use your hands to roll them in balls. The butter and PB make it super easy. This would be a good job for kids to do.

DSCN3632

Stick them in the freezer. These are frozen, can you tell. Take some chocolate chips with a little bit of Crisco and melt it in the microwave for about 15-30 seconds at a time.

Speaking of Mr. FeistyEats – it was our two-year anniversary on Monday. We celebrated by me working about 14 hours and he drank beer in a garage with his buddies 300 miles away. I am sure throughout our marriage we will have plenty of boring anniversaries but I do wish I could have seen his smiling face. He said for a gift we are getting each other a house. Sounds good to me.

DSCN3631DSCN3633

An example of how much Crisco to use. I had about 1 Tbsp. and 1 cup of chocolate chips. The recipe called for twice that but this worked. I would have liked maybe a little more chocolate after it was all done.

DSCN3636DSCN3637

Use a toothpick in the frozen balls to dunk them in the melted chocolate. You have to work fast, these thaw quickly. Just use your finger to smooth over the hole from the toothpick.

DSCN3638

Anyway, these treats are great on a cloudy, dreary day or a stinking hot one as well since you don’t need the oven. They definitely aren’t going to win any beauty or recipe contests but they are simple and good. I think next time I make these (3 jars of peanut butter, remember?) the addition of pretzels or Rice Krispies to the peanut butter portion would be divine. Enjoy! IMHO, these are best served frozen or chilled.

Side notes:

DSCN3639

I don’t think my chive plant is going to make the 4+ hour drive to Hazen. It looks way worse than this photo suggest.

I leave you with a few pictures of the Fargo Country Club where we had our work outing. Very pretty there! I’m not sure when I’ll post again as I haven’t been cooking much but maybe just some brief updates on how much packing sucks! Ha ha.

DSCN3607DSCN3608DSCN3609DSCN3610

Clockwise: the pro shop, bar outdoor area, pretty fountain and exterior of the locker rooms.

DSCN3611DSCN3612DSCN3614DSCN3615DSCN3616

Top four clockwise: a pretty planter of flowers, carts lined up for golfers, FCC entry, a squirrel! Bottom: I’m thinking lightening, right?

Oh – here is the recipe for buckeyes. Super easy!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 1/2
    cups
    Smucker’s® Creamy Natural Peanut Butter, stirred OR
    Jif® Creamy Peanut Butter
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (I skipped this as I had salted butter and PB)
  • 3 to 4 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 (12 oz.) package (2 cups) semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 2 tablespoons Crisco® All-Vegetable Shortening

PREPARATION DIRECTIONS:

    1. 1.
      COMBINE
      peanut butter, butter, vanilla and salt in large bowl. Beat with an electric
      mixer on LOW until blended. Add 2 cups powdered sugar, beating until blended.
      Beat in additional powdered sugar until mixture, when shaped into a ball, will stay on a toothpick. Shape into 1-inch balls. Refrigerate. (I froze them.)
    1. 2.
      PLACE chocolate chips and shortening in microwave-safe bowl. Microwave on MEDIUM for 30 seconds. Stir. Repeat until mixture is smooth. Reheat as needed while coating peanut butter balls.

 

  1. 3.
    INSERT
    toothpick in peanut butter ball. Dip 3/4 of ball into chocolate, leaving top
    uncovered to resemble a buckeye. Remove excess. Place on wax paper-lined tray.
    Remove toothpick. Smooth over holes. Refrigerate until firm.

 

via: http://www.crisco.com/Recipes/Details.aspx?recipeID=392&loc=1

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

