Twice Baked Potatoes

So, I didn’t have to make supper tonight! That is great since it is just me still and it was about 93* in Fargo. The occasion? I was invited to my brother and sister-in-laws house to celebrate a special person who turned 18 years old today. That would be Jeremy, the same person I made the graduation cake for just a couple of weekends ago. What a great few weeks for him, right? Graduate high school and now 18? “Officially” an adult! His Dad grilled up some burgers and dogs and also served fresh cut shoestring french fries. It was all great.

Speaking of potatoes, this same nephew who graduated, of course, also had a reception over Memorial Day weekend. The main-course that was served was a baked potato bar. What a great idea. The potatoes were baked in advanced and kept warm in a cooler; yes, it is true. A cooler kept them nice and warm. Then, over a warming tray you could choose from chicken tortilla soup, chili or shredded barbecue. On the side were a variety of other toppings. Such a great idea, especially as it was a bit cool that day. The only bad thing, as with any party, is it was hard to know how many potatoes to bake, depending on how many people show up. There were some potatoes left, so Mr. FeistyEats and I generously offered to take some home. Well, that probably wasn’t smart. Mr. FeistyEats was on his way to live alone in Hazen, leaving me a bachelorette in Fargo with about 5 potatoes the size of my head. These suckers were huge.

Well, a few days prior, my workplace had a lunch meeting and some of the leftovers from that luncheon were shredded cheese, sour cream and salsa. Are you thinking what I am thinking? Twice-baked potatoes for the workplace!

DSCN3562

Twice-baked potatoes are loved by almost everyone and can be changed to fit a variety of preferences. For these potatoes, we went pretty classic. Green onions, chives, cheese, sour cream, milk, butter and of course, the potatoes. Other toppings are endless but usually involved bacon. I’m not a fan, sorry to say.

DSCN3564DSCN3565

Can you just get a grasp on how HUGE these potatoes were? Usually, I would recommend taking small potatoes for appetizer servings or normal sized potatoes for a side or dinner. You can add a variety of meat to bulk these up and have it as a proper dinner. Sweet potatoes also work well in this application. If I were to bake these potatoes, I would coat them in oil or Crisco and sprinkle them generously with salt and pepper. This adds great flavor and makes the skin nice and crisp. You simply scoop out the inside of your potato once it is cooler, or use a hand mitt to aid you. Of course, these can be baked a few days in advance, making them an easy to assemble treat.

DSCN3566

Seriously, these were SO big! Perfect for a group though – you can cut them in half or thirds if needed. Be sure to leave some “meat” inside so the potatoes hold up to the stuffing. Don’t worry if they are perfect or if you slip and cut the skin – the filling will hide any flaws!

DSCN3567DSCN3568

Take the innards and put them in a separate bowl. Smash them with a fork, a potato masher or you could use a hand mixer. I added in some chopped green onion (I would have used way more if it was just me).

DSCN3569DSCN3570

I used the following spices: Lawry’s seasoning salt, parsley flakes, generous amount of garlic powder, black pepper and chives. Potatoes are bland so pile on to taste.

DSCN3571DSCN3572

Don’t forget to add in the sour cream, cheese and milk. Just eyeball it. Mix it thoroughly. You can taste it if needed to see if you need more seasoning or not.

DSCN3573DSCN3574

At work the next day, I took the empty skins and put them under the broiler to crisp them up. If you originally baked these with oil – that step is not needed. Add your insides back to the potatoes. You shouldn’t have any extra!

DSCN3576

Bake at 400* for about 20 minutes or until heated through. I put these under the broiler for a while to crisp up the cheese. Oh yeah, I added more cheese to the top. You basically can’t go wrong with this daily/potato combo. You could healthify this using yogurt and more veggies. Sometimes the real stuff is too good to pass up. Make sure all your co-eaters enjoy this treat as the onions and garlic powder will give you all bad breath. I was so anxious to eat this, I forgot to snap a photo of the portion I ate. You can top with additional green onion, sour cream, salsa…the opportunities are boundless.

Usually I don’t post on Wednesday’s (I like to drink or go out with friends), but I’ll be home and will hopefully check in with you. This weekend I am off to my parents to help them paint their house. Us kids decided that would be a great Christmas gift. Crazy idea, right? I’ll also get to see Mr. FeistyEats! I can’t WaaaaiiiiiTttt!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Dinner, Sides. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

