Is that all you eat? Burgers?

Happy Monday blog buddies. The start of another long week that we all hope goes by quickly until Friday, right? I had a great weekend! On Friday, I got to meet up with some good friends at my favorite beer place – Old Chicago – and it was nice enough to sit on the patio and enjoy our beers and half-price appetizers. On Saturday, I did some house cleaning, took Winston on a 2-mile walk and then rode my bike for 13 miles. See, my friends ran a 1/2 marathon this day and I figured the least I could do was ride my bike for 13 miles, seeing how they RAN for 13 miles! It was a great day – warm, but not too warm. Then, I headed over to a party in honor of…me! Really! Some of my good pals decided to have a get together to send me off – a farewell party. It was the perfect day. By 3pm, when the party started, it was just warming up and it was so great to sit in the sun, drink cold beers, eat delicious food and chat with good girlfriends.

This was a potluck, but I was not allowed to bring anything. Boy, was that difficult. Everyone else made up for it with delicious burgers, cookies, dips and a light, yummy cake. I should have taken pictures. My friends also surprised me with a very generous gift card to Creative Kitchen in the mall. Now my head is turning! I also received a cookbook, called On A Stick by Matt Armendariz. Naturally, all the recipes are on a stick. The funny thing about that is I had heard about this cookbook and JUST THE NIGHT BEFORE was telling my sister about it and now it is mine. I can’t wait to try a few recipes or use it as a fondue – my food could be on toothpicks! That is a stick!

I also discovered another great website today: A Hamburger Today. This site is all about burgers, eating them, cooking them, history of burgers and more. I could totally work for this company. I think burgers are my favorite food. They are so perfect! Even before I found this site today, I knew turkey burgers were on the menu for me tonight. I could eat burgers at least two-three times a week for supper. Nice and hot off the grill, covered with gooey cheese and topped with fresh, cold toppings? Nothing is better. Here is the recipe I came up with for tonight.

DSCN3577

  • 93% lean ground turkey – 1.2 lbs.
  • 1-2 cloves of minced garlic
  • 1/4 of large white onion (I was going to use red or green but forgot!)
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • 8 or so fresh basil leaves
  • S&P
  • Mozzarella cheese – I really wanted the real buffalo stuff but I’m on a budget here people. Remember, I have no job in a little over a month! Every penny counts.

DSCN3578DSCN3579

Pictured above: one very large dog glad to be in a cool house, on a cool floor, and one very small cat who was happy to have any company.

DSCN3580DSCN3581

I finely chopped up the onion, basil and garlic and added it to the turkey seasoned with S&P and a big dash of balsamic vinegar.

DSCN3584

And at the end, topped with melty mozzarella. Kind of a bruschetta turkey burger, I suppose.

DSCN3585

Per usual, I topped it on a bed of spinach and garnished with cold roma tomatoes. Later, I did add a little ketchup and mayo since the turkey doesn’t have much fat it is kind of dry.

Verdict: delicious! I loved the basil, garlic and onion throughout the burger. Of course, the melty cheese on top was like the icing on the burger. Yummy.

I don’t have anything planned for this week. That is pretty odd for me. I will enjoy my time at home with my animals and probably attempt to keep the house clean. Winston is shedding like mad and Brinklie is attempting to eat any fur she sees. What the heck?

One more animal story…apparently, Brinklie (aka FeistyCat) finally figured out how to unroll the TP roll. A classic cat move. When I got home on Saturday evening it was strewn from the bathroom to the kitchen – about 15 feet. Oh FeistyCat! Please don’t keep doing that.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

