Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie

Well – the weather is just crazy in North Dakota this year. Another horrible year for flood levels in Fargo, yet again. The Red River has been above flood stage for a record number of days – over 61 days! The Missouri River in central North Dakota is flooding and in my hometown of Sawyer the Mighty Mouse (aka Souris) River is flooding at levels that have not been seen in my lifetime. And it is nearly June 1! That seems so late for a flood. Not to mention, those in Montana and South Dakota are also facing flood problems. I hope and pray everyone stays all right. Of course, I hope no one loses any possessions; but most importantly, I hope no lives are lost. I know how helpless and hopeless you feel when the water just comes and comes and comes.

Last night, we were under a tornado watch in Fargo-Moorhead. After seeing news updates of Joplin, Missouri and the tornadoes in Alabama; I am even more scared. Of course, since Mr. FeistyEats is out of town I am scared that much more. I just feel better when he is with me. I turned the news to Channel 11 (my favorite) and watched all I could. At one point, the meteorologist even told his co-workers to seek shelter in their building. I took Winston and Brinklie to the basement bathroom and hunkered down with a blanket, my cell phone and my laptop. I was a mess! The animals weren’t sure why I had them trapped in the bathroom. After everything sounded calm, I called Mr. FeistyEats because I had texted him I was scared. I also followed the news and heard there were multiple reports of downed trees, power outages and fences ripped up. Again – what a pain to deal with, but thankfully I did not hear of any serious injuries.

I got up early this morning to clear the branches and straighten up the yard. I was really glad I did so, because it was warm and sunny this morning. By the time work wrapped up; it was so windy and quite cold. We have started working our summer hours, which means I now work 8a-5p Monday-Thursday and 8a-2:30p on Friday. I love getting done early on Friday, but when you are used to working 8a-4:30p Monday-Friday that first day working another 1/2 hour really drags! Oh well, I do know one thing that will make your cold, dark evening better – chocolate chip cookie pie. Yes, that is right. Basically, a cookie in a pie crust. Here we go!

DSCN3503

This is going to be a super small post because this was so easy to make: 1 frozen pie crust, 1 soft stick of butter, 1 cup of sugar, 2 eggs, 1 tsp. vanilla, a dash of salt, 1/2 cup of flour, 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips and 1 frozen pre-made pie crust. You could, of course, use your own. With most of my crust making tools packed, I purchased this bad Johnny at Wal-Mart.

DSCN3504

I mixed this with my hand mixer. Mr. FeistyEats kids me that I use my Kitchen Aid for everything – probably even to scramble eggs. But I don’t use it ALL of the time and with this recipe being so easy, I didn’t want to bother. Here’s a few tips though:

  • Cream together the butter and sugar – very well so it is fully incorporate and fluffy.
  • Add in a dash of salt, the vanilla and one egg. Incorporate and add the other egg. Now, at this point beat until the mixture expands and is frothy. You need the volume.
  • Add in the flour and chocolate chips and fold them in by hand; don’t over mix. I only had mini-chocolate chips on hand and they worked really well.
  • You could add in one cup of nuts – pecan, cashew, walnut, whatever.

DSCN3505

I was nervous as my mix only looked to fill up the pie crust about 1/2 way. I didn’t add nuts so I wasn’t sure if this would work out.

DSCN3506

Well, well, well. It turned out just fine! There is no top crust but the eggs give it a sort of thin crust up top. Bake at 325* for 60 minutes or until the middle is set and the crust is nice and brown.

DSCN3507

WAIT for the pie to cool. I should have waited a bit longer but it was difficult!!

DSCN3508

This pie is definitely best served warm. Don’t get me wrong, it was good the next day (and the day after), but it is best warm. Look at that yummy gooey center. I also found this recipe via Iowa Girl Eats; so thank you!

DSCN3518

Winston said this is a food blog and he wanted a picture of him eating on here, so there you go!

Stay safe with the weather North Dakotans!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

