Cajun beef burgers

Hey guys! I hope your day is going well. Mine didn’t start out the greatest. FeistyCat, Brinklie, busted through our patio screen door this morning while I was getting ready for work. I had to chase her down in the yard and then when she was back in the house she tried to do it again and started EATING the screen. What the heck FeistyCat? Do you miss your dad? Speaking of Mr. FeistyEats, I sure miss him. While he has been gone my cooking has been very boring. If it were up to me I’d pretty much have a burger every night. So that is what I’m doing!

I was influenced with this recipe by a Cajun Beef Burger recipe in the Taste of Home June/July 2011 issue. I didn’t follow the recipe exactly, of course. Here’s what I did.

DSCN3451

Open a new package of Zatarain’s Crawfish, Shrimp & Crab Boil! Yep, that is correct. Mr. FeistyEats introduced me to this amazing spice. I don’t care for seafood but this stuff is good on almost anything. I love the spice! I use this on anything from corn to roasted veggies to chicken and on. I have never used it in a burger recipe though.

DSCN3452

We just store it in an old tub of butter. Fits perfectly. Unfortunately, I don’t know what all spices are in here but it is great and brings the heat boy!

DSCN3453

In addition to the spicy seasoning I also used dried parsley, Louisiana hot sauce, garlic powder (too lazy to dice garlic up), black pepper, 1/4 of a large onion and about 1/4 cup of carrots, 1 lb. local burger and Worcestershire sauce. IMHO a burger is not a burger without Worcestershire sauce. So good and makes the burger so moist.

DSCN3454

Finely dice the carrots and onion.

DSCN3455

Add all the other ingredients. The original recipe said the sauté the onion and carrots first but I don’t think that is needed. You can see there are nearly as many veggies as there is meat. This is a great way to stretch your burger or to have bigger patties without paying for more meat.

DSCN3456DSCN3457

They were a little difficult to shape but I got the job done eventually. Throw them on the grill.

DSCN3458

A few minutes later, they are ready to eat. I love cheese on my burger so I added some Colby/Jack on top.

DSCN3460

As usual, I cut it up and made it into a salad. I love cheeseburger salad! Have you ever tried it? A big bed of spinach topped with diced tomatoes, a little red onion, a cut up dill pickled and the burger topped with spicy mustard, ketchup and some mayo or Miracle Whip; whichever you prefer. I guess it is a burger without a bun.

Final verdict on these burgers? At first I thought it tasted like a normal burger. But after a few more bites the heat set in and I LOVED THESE! I’m sure kids wouldn’t like them and I’m not sure if Mr. FeistyEats would like that much heat. These are basically my preferred single girl burger. The carrots added a nice crunch!

I have to get off of the computer. I have approximately 10 pounds of frosting in my fridge, 1 cake cooking and 2 dozen cupcakes baking. I have a big project in the works. I could use some positive thoughts as I really hope this turns out. It is for someone very special to me and I’ll be sharing with you the final details – good or bad!

Here is the original recipe from Taste of Home. They also had a recipe for a topping. I was simply to hungry to take time to make it; it does sound good though.

4 Servings Prep: 30 min. Grill: 10 min.

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 green onion, thinly sliced
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons Creole mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1/2 teaspoon grated lime peel
  • 1/2 teaspoon lime juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • Dash hot pepper sauce
  • Dash Worcestershire sauce
  • BURGERS:
  • 1/4 cup each finely chopped onion, celery and carrot
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh parsley
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 tablespoon Cajun seasoning
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon hot pepper sauce
  • 1 pound lean ground beef (90% lean)
  • 4 onion rolls, split

Directions

  • In a small bowl, combine the first 10 ingredients until blended; chill until serving.
  • In a large skillet, sauté the onion, celery, carrot and parsley in butter for 6-8 minutes or until tender; cool slightly.
  • In a large bowl, combine the vegetable mixture, Cajun seasoning, salt and pepper sauce. Crumble beef over mixture and mix well. Shape into four patties.
  • Grill burgers, covered, over medium heat or broil 4 in. from the heat for 5-7 minutes on each side or until a meat thermometer reads 160° and juices run clear. Grill rolls, cut side down, over medium heat for 30-60 seconds or until toasted. Serve burgers on rolls with sauce. Yield: 4 servings.
About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

