Easy, no yeast cinnamon rolls

What do you do when you sleep in and your husband goes to the early service church on Sunday morning? You feel guilty. Then, you get your butt out of bed to make him some treats to make up for your indiscretions. Not to mention, Mr. FeistyEats was also leaving to start his new job in Hazen, 4 hours away from me. I had to do something! I saw this recipe on Iowa Girl Eats – which is a great site, by the way, and knew I’d have to give it a try. I LOVE cinnamon rolls (as does Mr. FeistyEats, the main purpose here, right?) and thought it would be fun to whip these up without having to wait for the dough to rise.

DSCN3414DSCN3415

Get your ingredients assembled. The recipe calls for buttermilk and I did not have any and did not want to drive into town to purchase some. Instead, you can make your own by adding 1 Tbsp. of white vinegar to one cup of milk. Easy peasy. Here is the recipe:

Easy Cinnamon Rolls

Makes 16 rolls. From In Jennie’s Kitchen.
Ingredients:
Filling:
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 Tablespoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 Tablespoons butter, melted
Dough:
2 1/2 cups all purpose flour, plus more for rolling out dough
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup buttermilk
5 Tablespoons butter, melted and divided
Icing:
3oz cream cheese, softened
4 Tablespoons buttermilk
1 cup powdered sugar
Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 425. Combine filling ingredients in a small bowl, then mix with a fork until well blended.
2. In a another, larger bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Whisk together buttermilk and 4 Tablespoons melted butter in a separate bowl, then pour into the middle of the dry ingredients. Stir together until dough just comes together (do not overmix.) Kneed slightly with your hands until the dough forms into a ball, then slice it in half.
3. On a lightly floured surface, roll each half into a 12×8″ rectangle (think slightly longer than a sheet of paper.) Press half the filling mixture into the center, leaving 1/4″ of the dough clear on all 4 sides, then roll like a sausage. Pinch together seam, trim ends and cut into 8 slices. Repeat with the other dough half, then place rolls in a non-stick sprayed 11×8″ pan, or an 8×8 and 6×4″ pan. Brush cinnamon rolls with remaining Tablespoon of melted butter and bake for 15 minutes, or until tops are golden brown.
4. Meanwhile, to make the icing, mash together softened cream cheese and powdered sugar with a fork until smooth. Whisk in buttermilk, 1 Tablespoon at a time, until creamy. Drizzle onto hot cinnamon rolls and spread evenly.

DSCN3416DSCN3417

First you need to mix melted butter, sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon (don’t skimp!) and a little salt together with a fork. I usually use less salt than the recipe calls for as I generally always use salted butter or margarine. If you dare, taste this incredible creation. I mean it is butter, sugar and cinnamon. You CANNOT go wrong. I loved it. This mixture reminded me of my Grannie Annie’s house. She would make us kids cinnamon toast for breakfast and I’m not sure if she used crack as an ingredient, but it was always so good and always so much better than I could make. I mean it was cinnamon toast! How could hers taste better? It just did!

DSCN3419

Love you Grannie! Also, this is at 8:30am on a Sunday. Forgive me.

DSCN3420DSCN3421

To make the bread part of the rolls, the recipe called for melted butter whisked together with the buttermilk. At this time, I also took a pat of butter and put it in my baking dish and stuck that in the oven as it was pre-heating. It only takes a few minute for the butter to melt and just swirl your pan around to coat the bottom. Let the pan cool before you put your rolls in it.

DSCN3422DSCN3423

Mix your dry ingredients. Make a little well in the middle of your dry ingredients and add the wet.

DSCN3424

Mix until just incorporated. You don’t want to overmix this or any other bread-type item.

DSCN3428

Apparently, I wasn’t the only lazy one on this Sunday morning. Winston wasn’t even in the kitchen, but laying in the hall, overseeing my baking.

DSCN3426DSCN3429

Generously dust your surface with flour and get your rolling pin (or Seagram’s 7 bottle-remember my rolling pin is packed), my dough was quite sticky so I floured the top of the divided rolls.

DSCN3430DSCN3431

Roll out the two loaves – you want them to be equal in size. You could probably do this with your fingers if you don’t have a bottle rolling pin. Next, equally distribute that delicious filling!

DSCN3432DSCN3433

Roll the loaves up the long way. You want to pinch the end to the loaf so it all stays together.

DSCN3434DSCN3435

The recipe says to cut off and discard the ends. No such thing in my kitchen! You can bake those too, or taste test a small end. Ain’t no shame! I did and guess what? It was delicious! At this point, I had even higher hopes for this breakfast treat. You need to divide the loaves into eight rolls each. I cut the loaf in half, then half again and so forth until you have 8 rolls. I feel this is an easier way to make the rolls uniform in size.

DSCN3436

OK, this is where I got nervous this recipe would be a flop. Granted, this pan is larger than what the recipe called for. I thought for sure they were WAY too small. I am used to puffy cinnamon rolls that have already risen using yeast. Oh no! Mr. FeistyEats will be disappointed.

DSCN3437DSCN3438

Well, onward and upward. After all this work I wasn’t going to throw them. If they failed, I’d just keep them in my kitchen or throw them if I absolutely needed to. Brush the tops of the rolls with the remaining 1 Tbsp. of butter.

DSCN3439

Mr. FeistyEats might get annoyed by this but I’m a huge proponent of keeping the light on in the oven. I have to peek and do not open the door. Luckily, the rolls are puffing up nicely. In the meantime, assemble the frosting!

DSCN3442DSCN3443DSCN3444

Such an easy frosting! You mash together the cream cheese with the powdered sugar and add some milk until the frosting is of the consistency you desire. I love this recipe because the ingredients are so simple and you generally have these on hand. You can whip these up for friends who stayed the night and not worry about having time for them to raise. You can impress them with this recipe! You don’t even need a mixer for this one! If your cream cheese is really hard, you can nuke it in the microwave. Watch it very carefully. I nuked my 3 oz. for 5 seconds and that was enough.

DSCN3441

Oh thank you cooking gods! They puffed up like they were supposed to. Look at that river of cinnamon mix too – yum! I don’t have to throw these away. While they are still warm, frost these bad johnnies!

DSCN3445DSCN3446

I drizzled the frosting over the rolls and then used the spatula to spread the frosting more evenly.

Verdict?

DSCN3450

These are GOOD! Do they compare to yeast cinnamon rolls? Probably not. In my opinion, those are #1. But these are a close 2nd. The rolls is more biscuit-like in consistency, as expected. However, these are a great alternative. Like I said, if you had guests this would be a great breakfast treat. Warm cinnamon rolls, make whatever way, can’t be wrong!

On the personal front – I am back into the swing of things. Mr. FeistyEats is gone and I am back to the gym. Although, now I go at 5:15am, return home to visit the pets and then go back into town to work. Not ideal, but I have to swing it as a single person now! I rode my bike to work, which I immediately felt was a mistake. It was cold today! But I made it.  Luckily, that wind I struggled against on my way to work did not change and pushed me home! One bad thing, I did make one wrong turn on my way to work. I was daydreaming and had to back-track. How annoying! Anyway – let’s get this house sold! Hoping it goes soon. I’ll be back most likely on Thursday with a spicy burger recipe. I have happy hour with the girls tomorrow. I have to run and catch the end of The Biggest Loser finale!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

