Chocolate Chip Pretzel Cookies

Yep, you read that correctly, chocolate chip pretzel cookies. I saw this recipe online and knew I’d have to make it ASAP. I love salt and I love chocolate so I knew this would be a winner in my book. These were super easy to put together and made about 3 dozen which was a small, manageable amount. I’m sure you could easily double this recipe.

DSCN3321

Chocolate Chip Pretzel Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups of all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp. of salt
  • 1/4 tsp. of baking soda
  • 1/2 cup of butter at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup of tightly packed light brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup of granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup milk chocolate chips (I only had mini chips and they worked fine)
  • 1/2 cup broken up pretzel pieces

Directions:

  1. In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.
  2. Beat the butter and sugars together until well blended. On low speed, slowly add the beaten egg and vanilla extract until combined.
  3. Add the flour mixture to the wet mixture until the batter comes together. Stir in the chocolate chips, and pretzels. Cover and refrigerate for at least an hour.
  4. Preheat the oven to 350F. Form the dough into balls and place on baking sheet. Bake for 10 minutes.

Via: http://www.lovintheoven.com/2010/09/chocolate-chip-pretzel-cookies.html

DSCN3322

Make sure to blend the sugars and butter well. This really makes a difference in cookies, in my opinion.

DSCN3323

Secret ingredient – cut up pretzels. Twists, mini-rods, etc. would all work fine.

DSCN3325DSCN3327

This makes a small batch which I really liked for 2 reasons. 1) I get sick of making batch after batch of cookies and 2) you won’t eat as many this way!! Right?

DSCN3329DSCN3331

These were delicious. I would definitely serve these in my make believe catering business or sandwich shop. I haven’t totally decided which one I’d like to have in my make believe world. Per the instructions, you have to refrigerate these for at least 1 hour. We had dinner guests the evening I made these, so it was great to assemble them and stick the dough in the fridge while I cleaned up the mess before their arrival. I took the remaining dough and stuck it in the freezer. The next morning, I let it thaw in the fridge and then baked them at work a minute or two longer to account for the super cold cookies. Make these!

On my last entry, I told you that a friend and I were going to volunteer at the Fargo Marathon 5k.

DSCN3370DSCN3372

It was rainy, humid and overall, pretty icky outside. We cured that by heading over to Buffalo Wild Wings before the event for a quick beer and bite to eat. I’m sure those running the 5k would hate us!

DSCN3374DSCN3376

There were A LOT of runners, all in a great mood and a HUGE American flag at the start/finish line. The Perkin’s flag had nothing on this bad boy! I was surprised the finish was not in the Fargodome (I wanted to see the expo) but outside where the start was. That was OK, except it was raining and I had a dress and leggings on. Luckily, it mostly just misted and it was fine being outside.

DSCN3377

We saw some fun costumes including Batman and Robin!

DSCN3378DSCN3379

We had signed up to hand out water to finishers. Signing in was easy enough and we got a nice, free long-sleeve t-shirt for volunteering. Unfortunately, we really felt the volunteering for this duty was not organized well at all.

DSCN3380DSCN3381

At my day job, I work at a non-profit organization, so we are really familiar with relying on volunteers. It doesn’t always work out! But it really helps if things are organized to start with. Hopefully for those running it wasn’t a hassle. We did receive a follow-up email asking for suggestions and I plan to write them back with some thoughts. You can see on the left those handing out the medals were right by all the water and that was not ideal. When we went to find our station no one knew where to direct us. There were some other (minor) issues, but overall, it was fun to see everyone’s excitement and see the variety of runners out there! The sign on the right from Alaska says run your mass off!

DSCN3382DSCN3384

The next day was the Fargo Marathon, 10k, half marathon and relay marathon. I had a friend running the marathon and another running in the relay. I pinpointed a few miles where they both would be running and rode my bike into town to cheer on my friends. As always, I like to make myself look as stupid as possible, so that is me in my helmet. The road into town was a little wet and again, humid.

DSCN3385DSCN3386

I stopped along the way at the arbortoreum as I always do. It is so pretty! On the left you can see a bed of irises and two different flowering trees. It smelled wonderful. On the right, you can see the Red River is nearly back in its banks. I read in the paper today that this is the 56th day of the river above flood stage. Dang water. I also know Minot has been facing flood waters and pray for everyone there.

DSCN3388DSCN3389

When I got to the 13-mile area some of the first finishers were just coming through. I had to bike to a few different places to know where I was going. I can’t read a map for anything.

DSCN3396DSCN3403

I ended up seeing a lot of runners and it was fun to see everyone pushing themselves. It was humid and I did see one woman fall to the ground with a cramp and in tears. I felt so bad for her. She laid there a while and then got up and kept running and crying. I hope she finished! I will definitely miss the marathon next year. I don’t think I’d ever participate, even in the 5k, but I love to watch.

Today Mr. FeistyEats took off in his new home (our camper) and I miss him already. I mean a lot of people live alone and that is all good, but I’m used to having him here. So far, I have had to run after the cat two times because she escaped the house as I was grilling dinner. The second time I had to tell Winton to “get the kitty” so I could grab her. I hate to do that but I was scared she was running off! Hopefully things go smooth with him being gone. The animals must know he is gone!

Enjoy your week!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Cookies, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

