Bruschetta Caprese

It’s only Tuesday, right? Slow moving week so far. I had my morning spin class today. I usually love this class and don’t have too much of a problem getting up and going. I got up just fine, but I drug through class. I’m not sure what the problem is? My throat hurt some and I don’t know if I wasn’t putting in the effort but I wasn’t dripping wet like I usually am. I also got tired right away. Maybe I need a break? This outside weather really has me itching to be exercising outside and lately I have been way too busy to do that. Perhaps I need to change things up a bit? We will see what tomorrow brings. Anyway, onto the real deal here – the food.

I’m not even actually sure if bruschetta caprese is a real recipe, but if not, I made it up tonight. We had some dear friends over for dinner and as usual I wanted to try something new. However, this is something I have wanted to try for a long time and I had forming in my head. The idea behind this for me was a caprese salad (minus the olives, not an olive fan) that I could eat on its own but also a bruschetta type topping, so others could eat it on garlic toast if they didn’t want it salad style. A perfect marriage was born.

I didn’t have a set recipe to follow like I usually do. I simply went to Hornbacher’s this morning and got the ingredients I needed for bruschetta caprese. Here is my recipe I used:

DSCN3306

Bruschetta Caprese:

5 roma tomatoes
FRESH mozzarella (I used bocconcini mozzarella)
About 1/4 of finely diced red onion
2 cloves of garlic, finely diced
FRESH basil from my plant – about a dozen leaves (dried would work, fresh is preferred though)
1 scant Tbsp. balsamic vinegar
1 scant Tbsp. good olive oil
Not shown: salt and pepper to taste

Mr. FeistyEats asked how I was going to serve this dish and I told him I was going to grab a fork and shove it into my mouth. I was pretty excited. Vegetables are finally more fresh and more REAL tasting and I couldn’t wait to devour this! This would be great served as an appetizer, or as I did, as part of the meal. I will definitely be taking this to a potluck.

A few notes on the ingredients:

  • Roma tomatoes – I prefer these taste-wise. I am sure other varieties would work well.
  • Mozzarella – sure you could use pre-shredded mozzarella on your garlic toast but TRUST ME that fresh make all of the different. Bocconcini mozzarella is basically balls of mozzarella packaged in a liquid. This cheese is so mild and spongy – it is perfect for soaking up other flavors. Its Italian name means small mouthfuls and while these balls were a bit larger (that’s was she said) you could make it work. Smile Any fresh mozzarella would be best. It is pricey, but worth it! Just try it sometime, please?
  • Fresh basil – dried herbs are great and especially work good in winter in ND, right? But if in season, please use the fresh alternative. It is just bright and pops.
  • Use a good balsamic vinegar and olive oil – there is a reason why there is a variety of prices for these items out there. Quality counts when you are using so few ingredients.

Here is how I assembled this good recipe.

DSCN3307DSCN3308

I started out dicing up the tomatoes. I have mentioned this before, but I usually lop off the top and then squeeze the innards out as I don’t care for too many seeds. They are bitter to me? I think that is the taste, just not pleasant for me. This also keeps the dish from being too watery.

DSCN3309

Finely dice about 1/4 of a red onion. I prefer red as I think it is more mild – this one still made my eyes water. Other varieties would work I suppose. The red onion gives this dish another great color.

DSCN3310DSCN3311

Finely dice two garlic cloves. A good way to get that skin off is to take the flat part of your knife and safely smash the clove with your other hand. It’ll pop right off. You can add as much garlic and onions as you prefer. Hopefully everyone eats the dish so you can all have bad breath!

DSCN3312

Take your basil leaves (be sure to wash them) and stack them one on top of the other with the largest leave on the bottom. I just use a kitchen scissor to snip off the leaves from your plant. I don’t like to include the stem.

DSCN3313DSCN3314

Chiffonade the basil. Roll it up and slice it thinly. You don’t want to dice it or slice it more than once as you will bruise the leaf.

DSCN3315DSCN3316

Look at those pretty colors!

DSCN3317

My tub of mozzarella had four balls of cheese in it. I used two diced ones for this recipe. You could easily add more depending on your preference. You can bet a little bite went straight to my face hole. Delicious!

DSCN3318DSCN3319

Add all the items together including the balsamic vinegar, olive oil, salt and pepper. Mix together and refrigerate until serving.

DSCN3324

For my guests who wanted to eat this like bruschetta, I took some crusty bread and topped it with olive oil seasoned with garlic powder, garlic salt and Italian seasonings. I spread this on the bread with a pastry brush and stuck this in the oven under low broil until they were brown and a bit crunchy. This recipe is juicy so the crisp bread will soak that in nicely.

DSCN3326

Here is the final dinner. I wanted to take some more photos of just the bruschetta caprese but it is a little odd taking pictures of your food in front of your guests. The dinner was: cucumber salad (seasoned with rice vinegar and salt), beer can grilled free-range chicken, grilled asparagus with a bit of olive oil and Lawry’s seasoned salt and my recipe.

I REALLY like this one! Some of my recipes are fun just because I tried them, some I might make again, some are stapes and some, like this, are new ideas I got from an inspiration or restaurant and actually come out good when I make it at home. I can’t wait to shove forkfuls of leftovers in my mouth!

Tomorrow night I will be out again with friends. Hopefully I will have time for an update, but no promises! Enjoy this lovely weather we have been having!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

