Breakfast strudel puff pastry

Happy 30th Birthday to my good friend and co-worker! Today she joins the ranks of the few of us in our office that are 30+. Actually, now half of us are over 30 and the other half are under 30. There are 8 employees in our office. I thought it would be fun to bring a special treat for my co-worker on her birthday. And, I did have that other box of puff pastry to use up.

Google is definitely my friend when trying to find a new recipe. I was thinking of something sweet, but I always bring sweets to work. This time I thought it would be fun to bring something savory. A great way to find breakfast recipes is to look at Bed & Breakfast websites. A lot of breakfast recipes are waffles, pancakes, cinnamon rolls and the like. This something new was exactly what I was looking for. It is really easy to make, but the puff pastry takes it up a notch and makes it a little fancy for a birthday girl.

DSCN3294

Here is what you need: eggs, cream cheese, chives, spinach, frozen hashbrowns, onions, ham, a box of puff pastry and 2 Tbsp. of butter. Here is the recipe and the changes I made:

Breakfast Strudel
1 box puff pastry dough
2 Tbsp. butter
1 cup frozen cubed hash brown potatoes
1 cup red and green bell peppers, seeded and diced chiffonade spinach (I thought this was more safe as some people don’t care for peppers)
1/2 cup onion, diced – (I used green onions)
1 cup smoked ham, diced
11 eggs
2 Tbsp. minced fresh chives
4 ounces cream cheese, softened
2 Tbsp. orange juice
1 egg
1 Tbsp. water
2 Tbsp. Parmesan cheese, shredded
I also added black pepper, Lawry’s seasoned salt and garlic powder.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Thaw pastry according to package directions, about 30 minutes.

Melt butter in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add potatoes and sauté five minutes. Stir in onion; sauté three minutes, then add ham.

Whisk eggs and chives together. Add them to the pan and scramble just until set. Add spinach while the eggs are cooking. Season with salt and pepper to taste; take off heat, stir in cream cheese and juice until blended. Refrigerate eggs while working with the pastry.

Unfold a pastry sheet on a work surface that’s been lightly dusted with flour. Roll pastry lengthwise to 12 x 10 inches, then transfer to a piece of parchment paper cut to fit a baking sheet. Trim pastry, fill with half the egg mixture, and braid. Repeat with remaining pastry and egg filling. Lift parchment and strudels onto baking sheets.

Combine the remaining egg and water; brush over top of strudels. Sprinkle with cheese and bake 30 minutes or until golden. Let cool five minutes before slicing. Makes two strudels.

Joy and Jim Fischer, Innkeeper / Owners
Firelight Inn Bed and Breakfast

DSCN3295DSCN3296

I am not a huge ham fan but I do like deli ham. I used some low-sodium deli ham – probably 1/4 lb. is equal to one cup. This made a large batch of eggs natural, I probably should have used a bigger pan. I thought it was kind of neat this recipe came from the Firelight Inn B&B which is in Duluth, one of my favorite cities.

One of the reasons I picked this recipe, is because it said to braid the strudel. I had never done this and wanted to give it a try. Again, Google to the rescue. There is a YouTube video for almost everything. I’ll try to show you how here.

DSCN3297DSCN3298

Roll out your puff pastry dough – with a rolling pin or a Seagram’s 7 bottle if need be. Once you get it in a roughly 12”x12” square you want to cut off the top corners. You also want to cut town notches on the bottom half as the picture above on the right shows. Next, you want to cut an equal number of diagonal strips on each side of those bottom notches. Refer to the photo on the right.

DSCN3299DSCN3300

Take your cooled egg mixture and divide it equally among the two puff pastries. Next, you want to fold down the top and bottom like the photo on the right. Make sure you crimp the edges so nothing escapes!

DSCN3301

Take a strip from each side and cross cross over the eggs. Do this the whole way down.

DSCN3302

At the bottom, you will have some overhanging strudel.

DSCN3303

Just slice off any extra.

DSCN3304

Repeat with the other puff pastry. Keep those extra pieces of pastry – they are good with nothing on them, trust me. Be sure to cover with an egg wash (one egg scrambled with 1 Tbsp. water) to get that golden brown crust. Bake away!

DSCN3305

Here is what they look like all baked up. Isn’t that a pretty breakfast? I baked these the day before work as I couldn’t didn’t want to get up super early to prep this. I just warmed the oven to 350* and reheated through! Happy 30th to my friend and co-worker!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Breakfast. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Breakfast strudel puff pastry

  1. Faye Krumwiede says:

    We had lunch with your husband today and he told me about your blog. I love it. The problem with trying the new recipes if there are only two of you in the house is that you need an outlet for all the food. Usually not a problem, tho. I hope to meet you someday as well. We are the neighbors across the street at 1023. I also have some dog treats for Winston and will dole them out carefully.

    • Feisty Eats says:

      Oh wow, thanks! I am usually too scared to tell anyone. I think they might think it is silly. Glad you looked and can’t wait to meet you. I barely have time to do this, but I love it so make it a priority. Mark is such a great guy!

Leave a Reply

