Puff pastry spinach triangles

Mr. FeistyEats and I had two dinner parties this weekend! For my first one, I took the easy way out and stopped at the grocery store to pick up some chips and dips to take to the party. I just wasn’t in the cooking mood – it happens. However, for our Sunday evening dinner, I had a recipe in mind I wanted to try out. It is scary to make a recipe you have never tried before and also take it to another person’s home to eat. Here goes!

DSCN3286

Items I needed: eggs, frozen (but squeezed dry) spinach, feta cheese (yep, still have feta cheese from Sam’s Club!), green onions and two sheets of puff pastry. Each box of puff pastry contains two sheets FYI. I also put some black pepper in the mix and…

DSCN3287

…some fresh chives from my plant!

As always, some great info from Wikipedia on puff pastry:

Puff pastry is a light, flaky unleavened pastry with several layers of fat (butter). In raw form, puff pastry is a dough which is spread with fat and repeatedly folder and rolled out. The gaps that form between the layers is a result of the puff pastry rising as the water evaporates into steam during the baking process. Piercing the dough will prevent excessive puffing and crimping along the sides will prevent the layers from flaking all of the way to the edges.

Puff pastry is similar to Middle Eastern phyllo and I used in a similar manner to create layered pastries. In fact, if I used the recipe with phyllo dough you would call these spanakopita, which is a popular Greek dish.

To make your own puff pastry would be very time consuming so find it at your grocery store by frozen pie shells. Your time is worth it! Be sure to follow the box instructions when using puff pastry – allow it to thaw properly and your results will show.

DSCN3288DSCN3289

What is a girl to do when she can’t find her rolling pin? A lady would roll out the puff pastry with a wine bottle. However, I do not drink wine so a Seagram’s 7 bottle it is! Hey, it worked. Roll your pastry out into a roughly 12” square. Divide that square into 4 portions and then those 4 portions into 4 equal squares so you have 16 squares per puff pastry sheet, follow?

DSCN3290DSCN3291

Spoon about 1 Tbsp. of the spinach/feta mixture into each square. Brush two edges of the puff pastry with an egg wash and crimp over the other edges to form a triangle. Use a fork to seal the edges.

DSCN3291

Use an egg wash for the top of the triangles and bake up immediately.

DSCN3292

They puff up nicely and get a lovely golden brown color on top. That is when you know they are done.

DSCN3293

I ate one warm from the over and it was great. However, I ate some cold later in the day and those were good too. These were a hit, super easy and I would make these again for sure. You could put almost anything in a puff pastry and I think it would taste good!

Mr. FeistyEats and I have a very busy, fun-filled week of going out with friends so I’m not sure what I will post about. I did buy TWO boxes of puff pastry, so I have another recipe I’ll be sharing tomorrow.

I encourage you to try puff pastry. It is so delicious and makes for a fancy treat for you and your friends! Here is the recipe for Spinach Triangles:

Ingredients

1 package (17.3 ounces) Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry Sheets, thawed
3 eggs (1 for glaze, 2 for spinach)
1 tablespoon water
1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese
1 package (about 10 ounces) frozen chopped spinach, thawed and well drained
1 medium onion, finely chopped (about 1/2 cup) – I used green onions
2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley I used chives
Black pepper

Directions

Heat the oven to 400°F. Beat 1 egg and water in a small bowl with a fork or whisk. Stir the remaining eggs, cheese, spinach, onion and parsley in a medium bowl.

Unfold 1 pastry sheet on a lightly floured surface. Roll the pastry sheet into a 12-inch square. Cut into 16 (3-inch) squares. Repeat with the remaining pastry sheet, making 32 in all.

Place 1 tablespoon spinach mixture in the center of each square. Brush the edges of the pastry with the egg mixture. Fold the pastry over the filling to form triangles. Crimp the edges with a fork to seal. Place the filled pastries onto baking sheets. Brush with the egg
mixture.

Bake for 20 minutes or until the pastries are golden brown. Let the pastries cool on the baking sheets on wire racks for 10 minutes.

Recipe found here.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Puff pastry spinach triangles

  1. Evelyn says:

    can u give me a breakdown of fat, fiber, carbs & protein for this recipe? Thank u

    • Feisty Eats says:

      Sorry, I’m not sure. I don’t keep track of those when I cook or bake. I’m sure there are some tools online that could figure it our for you though. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

