Lemon bars from a box

I try very hard to be organized. I really do. When I get home from work, I take and put away my gym clothes, put away any dirty dishes I took for lunch and file any papers or mail as needed. I immediately pack my bag for the gym the next morning, pick out clothes and jewelry to wear the next day and make a lunch if needed. I always try to work ahead as I am a firm believer that when you work ahead, your life is easier.

Well, some days definitely aren’t perfect. My life is crazy busy right now between work and home. After work I was trying to vacuum, sweep, make lunch, make dinner, eat dinner, talk on the phone, prep a dessert recipe and do laundry. All at once. So yeah, guess what happened? I preheated the oven…

DSCN3281

… and forgot there were some leftover rice krispie treats in the oven. Thank goodness they were in a pan. Ugh, stinky!

I burned my finger, forgot to set the timer, forgot about the laundry and forgot to vacuum part of the living room. Some days you just need to slow down. So, I poured myself a drink, took a break and reassessed to see if anything or everything could be salvaged. Sometimes I work ahead too much and have to live more in the moment. I talked to my sister to make some weekend plans, enjoyed my drink, played with these crazy pets of mine and vacuumed. Man, vacuuming and seeing your work all done can really make you feel like you accomplished something at least!

DSCN3268

She is so little and funny between the screen door and main door. Silly cat. Winston is looking in like, really cat? I was still pressed for time and didn’t know what I was going to bake. I really wanted to bake something.

Our mailman left us a grocery bag saying they were helping in a food drive to collect non-perishable items. This is on Saturday and I figured I’d go through the pantry to see what we had to give. I came up with a few items and also saw we had a pre-mixed cake mix. I thought I’d Google a recipe to see what was available to bake with that lemon cake mix.

DSCN3273

I knew I had a block of cream cheese in the fridge and this looked super easy, so game on!

Ingredients

  • 1 (18.25 ounce) package yellow cake mix
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 3 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour a 15 x 10 inch sheet pan.
  2. Mix together cake mix, butter or margarine, and 1 egg. Press mixture into pan.
  3. In a small bowl, mix together cream cheese, 2 eggs, and confectioners’ sugar. Pour mixture on top of cake mixture.
  4. Bake for 15 minutes. Reduce temperature to 300 degrees F (150 degrees C), and bake for 30 to 35 minutes. Cool, and cut into squares.

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/cream-cheese-bars-i/Detail.aspx

I started out with the base, simple enough.

DSCN3269DSCN3270

I thought it would be hard to get that thick mixture spread over that large pan but I plopped the mix down and just floured my fingers with powdered sugar to spread the mix.

DSCN3271DSCN3272

Now, I mentioned I am a little stressed and pressed for time, right? I know I had seen a similar recipe to this that turned out great so I thought I’d try to add in a few ingredients that weren’t on the list. Not a great idea when you are not thinking clearly.

DSCN3274DSCN3275

I decided to substitute some brown sugar for powdered sugar and add in vanilla. This might have been OK in the end but I’m not sure it went with the lemon so great in the end? Too sugary? Those box mixes are very sugary. Maybe I should quit with the box mixes? They are so convenient though!

DSCN3278

One thing I can guarantee is that you need to have one of these discs to keep your brown sugar moist. How does it work? Who cares? It is awesome – buy one!

DSCN3280

About to go in the oven.

DSCN3282DSCN3283

Fresh out of the oven and sprinkled with just a little more powdered sugar.

DSCN3284DSCN3285

Sorry for the yellow lighting, it was dark out! Verdict, eh OK. Maybe try not to change the recipe at the last minute. I’d like to try it as originally written. Who can I pawn these off of on now?

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

