Honey mustard glazed chicken with broccoli

Hey yo! My day started out with a sweaty spin session at my gym. I mean really sweaty. It is so humid and sticky here in Fargo. It was literally snowing like 10 days ago and now it is thunder storming, humid and we have tons of dang mosquitoes. Regardless, I still wanted to soak up some of the sunshine while it was out, so I took Winston on a 1/2 hour walk and then rode my bike for about 1/2 hour after work. Here are a few sights I saw…

DSCN3242DSCN3243

OK, admittedly, not much. The trail to the south of my house just leads further out of town so we have some open, wet fields and soon the trail ends. On the photo to the right, if you squint, you can see a billboard straight ahead (not the one on the left) and that used to be under water from the Wild Rice River so I guess the rivers are going down. Slowly.

DSCN3244DSCN3247

I rushed home to grill dinner as I was starving and it was a perfect day to grill. We usually take something out in advance to let thaw and prepare for dinner the next day – either marinade or season the meat. We did not do this, so we had two huge frozen chicken boobs to prepare some way. I threw on my favorite poultry seasoning. Well I threw it on the meat, not me. Side note, I used to think pork was poultry. Like a few years ago. I amaze myself with my stupidity sometimes.

Anyway, throw those boobies on the grill – even though they are frozen. We have a Holland grill and I tell you what, that thing is amazing – it never gets too hot so it is basically impossible to burn your meat unless you totally ignore it. If you have a grill that flames up or gets real hot, make sure you keep the temp around 350* and you are good to go.

DSCN3249

Ah yes, this is the ticket! I found this little gem hidden in my fridge. From Tastefully Simple, Bold and Bossy Honey Mustard Sauce. This stuff is great on all types of poultry, including pork. Smile No seriously, it is great on pork chops, I have tried that as well.

DSCN3251DSCN3250

I needed to use up the last of the HUGE bag of fresh broccoli we purchased at Sam’s Club and I was bored of steamed, stir fried or roasted broccoli. I consulted my favorite cookbook – the World Wide Web – and found a super easy recipe so I gathered my ingredients – low sodium soy sauce, broccoli, butter and garlic powder.

DSCN3252

Err, wait – I actually forgot the brown sugar. I saw this recipe is to be prepared in the microwave and I was so excited I forgot to grab my container of brown sugar. It was warm outside and microwave preparation sounded like a dream come true. Oh, and the recipe was super easy. Anyway, here is the recipe I used from Taste of Home with my changes noted:

Broccoli Side Dish Recipe (that is what they called it) – I renamed it Asian Broccoli Side Dish Microwave Style

Ingredients

  • 5 cups fresh broccoli florets
  • 2 1 1/2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 4 teaspoons soy sauce
  • 2 1 teaspoons brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic  – I used a big dash of garlic powder

Directions

  • Place broccoli in a large microwave-safe bowl. Combine the remaining ingredients (I melted the butter, soy sauce, brown sugar and garlic all together in a little side dish so the brown sugar melted); pour over broccoli. Cover and microwave on high for 3-4 5-6 minutes or until tender. Serve with a slotted spoon. Yield: 4 servings.

DSCN3257DSCN3258

Meanwhile, make sure your chicken boobs are grilling up nicely and you have that wonderful criss-cross pattern on them. The easiest way to do that? Have a criss-cross grated grill! But you know, rotate as needed if you don’t. After each side has cooked I added some of the honey mustard glaze and let it soak in and get a little caramelized on the edges!

DSCN3259DSCN3260

I made up a few cheese crisps (love those) to go with our meal and on the side I made up a few salads (spinach, CAJUN turkey-yum, carrots and feta) for me to take for lunches because…

DSCN3245

THIS is what my kitchen looked like! I had picked up some groceries and I was also trying to use up any leftover items before they spoiled. So, since all that food is out you might as well work ahead and make some lunches. With my leftover veggies I made a soup. I know, it was 75 and muggy today! Why was I making soup? Well, to me it goes great with salads and is a super great way to get a huge punch of vegetables each day. Besides, I work in an office that is usually cold, so it isn’t like I am outside in the heat eating soup.

DSCN3261

My dinner – spinach salad with carrots and vinaigrette, Asian broccoli, cheese crisp and honey mustard glazed chicken. If you don’t have a pre-made honey mustard glaze make your own. Honey. Mustard. Done. Maybe some brown sugar. That said – this broccoli recipe paired so well with the honey mustard chicken as it also had the sweet taste from the brown sugar and a great salty kick from the soy sauce.

DSCN3262

Get in my belly!

DSCN3254DSCN3267

FeistyCat Brinklie was trying to break out the patio door to get outside. FeistyDog Winston was enjoying the weather but thinks he needs to get out of that winter fur coat. Have a great day – I have to sign off and watch The Voice! I love Blake Shelton.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

