Feta cheeseburgers

Why do I do this? Every once in a while we take a trip to Sam’s Club to get dog food and dog biscuits. Then I see all the wonderful food and want to purchase it and eat it. Except, the packages aren’t exactly tailored for TWO people. More like twelve. So what I am trying to say is I have like 2lbs of feta cheese to eat. I have been eating scrambled eggs with feta, salad with feta, cereal with feta (just kidding), etc. I wanted to try something different and it is actually SPRING now in Fargo so I searched for a feta burger recipe. I came up with a pretty good one I think.

DSCN3197

I started on with a few basil leave which I am growing myself! It is just pretty freaking awesome to pluck some leaves off your own plant and eat them.

DSCN3199

I rolled up the leaves and cut them into long, fine ribbons, also known as a chiffonade. How very Food Network of me, right? I wasn’t sure if the flavor would be too much (they smelled pretty strong) but I think I could have used a few more leaves in the end.

DSCN3200

I assembled the other ingredients needed for the burgers. Garlic salt, black pepper, Worcestershire sauce, green onions and Dijon mustard. Oh, and the beef too, of course. Side note: guess who else also picked up a huge back of fresh broccoli at Sam’s? We will be eating that for two weeks. Stupid, stupid, stupid!

DSCN3201DSCN3202

This was one pound of burger and mix in all your ingredients. I then split the hamburger into 4 sections and made 2 burger patties out of each section to equal 8 burgers. Follow? Then in the middle of 4 burgers I put some feta cheese.

DSCN3203

Take a cheese patty and top it with a plain patty. Make sure to crimp the edges together so the cheese doesn’t fall out. You can see the wonderful green color throughout the meat from the basil and green onion.

DSCN3204

On the side I whipped up an aioli for the burgers. In the end, I didn’t think it was that great so no recipe for that one.

DSCN3206

Place those burgers on the grill. I cooked mine for about 9 minutes on each side. It depends on how hot your grill is.

DSCN3207

FeistyCat Brinklie is trying to bust out of the screen door. You can probably see that evil glare in her eye! Just a note on that green towel. You likely see that in a lot of photos the cat is in. We don’t know why but she loves that damn thing! She plays on it, slides around on it on the laminate flooring and hides toys underneath it. Odd.

DSCN3208DSCN3209

My favorite way lately to eat a burger is cut up over a big bed of spinach. I put my aioli on this and devoured it. I really enjoyed the burger with the feta. Something nice verse the traditional Colby cheese we usually use. I really thought Mr. FeistyEats would be against this burger just because of the feta but he said he approved. This was enjoyed with a beer because WHAT is better than a burger and beer on a nearly 70* day? You tell me! Oh, and later on I added more Dijon and some ketchup to this plate. I love ketchup. Heinz 57 please.

I better go Google something to do with broccoli now. Dang you Sam’s Club!

Here is the recipe with the changes I made found on MyRecipes.com:

http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/maria-menounos-mykonos-burger-10000001723366/

Ingredients

· 1/3 cup chopped fresh parsley – a few leaves of fresh basil

· 1 pound lean ground turkey – lean ground beef

· 3/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

· 1/2 teaspoon salt – garlic salt

· 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

· 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard

· 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

· 1 3/4 ounces crumbled feta cheese (I didn’t measure)

· 4 (1/4-inch thick) slices red onion – spinach, tomato – I added in green onion to the burger and didn’t have any tomatoes, used spinach though

Preparation

· 1. In a medium bowl, mix first 8 ingredients (through feta). Use an ice cream scoop or 1/2-cup measure to make equal-size patties.

· 2. Broil Grill for 5–6 8-9 minutes on each side or until done.

· 3. Place burger on bottom half of bun. Top with onion slices and a Dijon-and-ketchup mixture (a trick for cutting sugar from your diet), if desired; garnish with parsley, if desired. Cover with top half of bun.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Feta cheeseburgers

  1. Vonnie says:

    Sarah, I love Feta Cheese and I love burgers even more so I am anxious to try this recipie. Thanks

  2. Crystal griffin says:

    Mmmmm…. The burgers came out great! thank
    S to u and love to the kitty.

Leave a Reply

