Easter breakfast bake

I hope everyone is having a wonderful Easter Sunday. Today, it finally feels like spring might be returning to Fargo. Fingers crossed. The sun is shining and I saw people wearing shorts. On Friday Mr. FeistyEats and I took off for Washburn, ND. The weather was raining and snowing in some places. He did all the driving and I was very thankful. I love going to my parents house and hanging out with them. They are so fun and totally crazy. Read on to see what I mean!

Our family had a breakfast brunch instead of an Easter dinner. I had to get back on the road to Fargo and since it is about 4 hours away, I was hoping to leave by noon or 1pm.

DSCN3003

Washburn has a weekly paper – the Washburn Leader – and every week they have a person or family sharing recipes. In this edition the Heidelberger family shared an egg bake recipe we thought we’d try out. Thanks for sharing!

8 slices of cubed bread, 8 oz. shredded cheese, 2 c cubed cooked ham, 8 eggs, 2 1/2 cups milk. We also added onion and some spices.

DSCN2998

The recipe called for ham but my dad requested bacon so we fried up some bacon. Isn’t that a lovely pan my Mother has? Just ignore that huge ham bone in the back. That was Winston’s Easter brunch treat.

DSCN3000DSCN3059

Speaking of Winston, look! He doesn’t care which kitchen he cooks in. He just wants to be nearby!! What a sous chef.

DSCN3001DSCN3002

While my Mom fried up the bacon, I cubed up 8 slices of white bread. This was my brother’s bread, so thanks! I guess he doesn’t care for the butt ends, but those work great in this recipe.

DSCN3004DSCN3005

I also cracked open 8 eggs and whisked them up with 2 1/2 cups of milk. Now, onto my CRAZY FAMILY….

DSCN3007

Safety first! Best to wear a hard had and head lamp while cooking bacon. Next she was going to put on the safety glasses. That lead to me doing this…

DSCN3009

Please note we assembled this the afternoon prior, so I wasn’t nipping at 6am or anything. Then I heard a weird noise so went to check it out.

DSCN3023

That would be my father on a stationary bike wearing full cover sunglasses, in the house. Oh Lord help me! Ha ha ha. What a nut house.

DSCN3008DSCN3010

Let’s get back to the food. There isn’t enough space on the internet to explain how nuts my family is! Layer the bread in a greased pan, then layer some shredded cheese, bacon and some chopped onions we decided to add. Layer until all those are gone.

DSCN3011DSCN3014

After you get all the dry ingredients layered in, pour the eggs and milk over everything and let it sit in the fridge overnight to soak up all the egg goodness.

DSCN3015DSCN3017

We also cut up some fresh strawberries for breakfast.

DSCN3016

How gorgeous are these berries?

DSCN3024DSCN3031

A few fun Easter decorations Mom had set out.

DSCN3066

Here’s the egg bake all cooked up. It was REALLY good, especially smothered with some hot sauce.

DSCN3067DSCN3068

Here was our brunch buffet: deer sausage (yum!), pancakes, baked cheesy hashbrowns, egg bake and deviled eggs. Also those strawberries you saw above.

DSCN3069DSCN3022

I ate it all! Mom also loaned me a super cute apron!

DSCN3026DSCN3027

This is my parents back yard (hi Winston). So yeah, I basically hate them. They have a gorgeous view of the Missouri River.

DSCN3048DSCN3049DSCN3050DSCN3051

I took Winston down to the river bottom for a swim. Those geese were NOT happy to share the water with him. Eventually, they flew away.

DSCN3052DSCN3056

We walked back up to the house and the neighbor’s dog came over to say hello to Winston.

DSCN3042

This was Saturday evening. Gorgeous. I hope everyone has a great Easter. Back to the grind tomorrow and I’ll be back with a review of a Bismarck restaurant!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Breakfast. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

