Crock Pot Roast Beef

There is nothing as simple as a crock pot dinner. You can prepare all the food the evening before, dump it in the crock and stick it in the fridge. The next morning before you go to work, just take it out of the fridge, plug it in and go about your day. When you get home and open the door you will smell a delicious supper cooking. Crock pot cooking is great for a busy day or probably especially parents who are busy with any kid activities.

When we ordered our cow, we got a lot of different cuts of meat – roasts, rib eyes, sirloins, round steak, burger, etc. Beef roast is one of my favorite crock pot dinners, not to mention super easy.

DSCN2948

It is hard to tell from this photo but this is a pretty big crock pot and that is a fairly small roast which is perfect for Mr. FeistyEats and I. You can season the roast anyway you want – I believe this one had McCormick steak seasoning (TDF – to die for), lots of cracked black pepper, dried garlic, Lawry’s seasoned salt (aka the best seasoned salt) and dried parsley. We ALWAYS add sliced onion to our roast. This time we also put in some chopped carrots which were great – you could do any root veggies…potatoes, sweet potatoes, parsnips, etc. Slow cooking all of these ingredients will make everything in that crock SUPER tender.

I ended up having a very busy work day and stayed later than usual. You can imagine my surprise, not to mention relief, that when I got home Mr. FeistyEats was putting together the finishing touches on this meal. I was relieved because I had other work to do. I was surprised because I never asked him to finish the meal, but I knew everything would be good as he is a great cook.

DSCN2951

The final plate:

  • canned corn seasoned with Mr. FeistyEats secret (delicious) seasoning
  • crock pot carrots and onions
  • roast beef and
  • homemade mashed potatoes

The potatoes and roast beef were topped with a package gravy mix. I have mixed feelings on this because who knows what crazy ingredients are in it, but it is so much less fat that real gravy. It is a true time saver and tastes really good. Mr. FeistyEats spiced it up with black pepper and dried onion flakes. I’d say on occasion it is OK to have some packaged gravy!

DSCN2949

Miss Easter Bunny says hello. Have you thought of your Easter Day meal yet? I think my family is doing a brunch. My FeistyEat in-laws are coming over this week for stir fry. Remember, you don’t have to do ham, or lamb or whatever you traditionally do – try a Mexican meal, brunch, make your own pizza buffet and more. It’s fun to mix it up!

DSCN2953DSCN2957

Winston, get your face out of the dishwasher! This is one way to rinse your dishes I guess? Brinklie is almost back to her normal self after her surgery. She is trying to paw at everything in between serious naps. Ha ha!

In an exercise update my spin instructor told our class today that she is 37 and has a 21 year-old son. She looks A-MAZING and I would have guessed in her 20’s. That is some motivation right there!

I’ll be back tomorrow with a SURE FIRE dessert idea that is soooooo yummy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

