Typical

TGIF, am I right? Let’s see…the day started off for me at about 5am for a Body Pump class at 5:30. I like to go work out before work because my willingness to go as the day gets longer drops dramatically. Especially as we get closer to nicer weather (it will get nicer one day, right!), I do not want to be inside sweating when I can be outside sweating or doing fun things.

I have never taken Body Pump but have heard good things about it. Here is the jist according to Wikipedia and Feisty Eats: This is a 60-minute weight-based group-fitness program created in 1991 in New Zealand. It is basically all over the US and the rest of the world now. Apparently the purpose was to get men into the aerobics room. There were only women in my class, but that might have to do with the fact it is a women’s only fitness center. Heh, heh. The class is set to music and there are different muscle groups targeted with each different song. Body Pump is pre-choreographed and a new set/format comes out every 3 months. Just a side note but my instructor was awesome – she has a rocking bod, of course, but I told her it was my 1st time and she made sure I understood what was up.

BodyPump-Floor

The music was good – made you want to get after it and it was songs I recognized which was nice. You use a combo of free weight, plates and barbells and an aerobic step. My instructor, Jen, had me start out at the lightest amounts so I could catch on to the choreography. You do a repetitive type of workout but working different muscles, it was really easy to catch onto. The idea is to build endurance as you go on.

You get a short break just when you think you might die. I can already feel it in my some of my muscles. I definitely want to go back and try more weights on my legs but my arms suck so I’ll probably stick with lower weights. It is fun to try something new and I’ll definitely go again. You burn fewer calories but you burn fat and build muscle.

GROCERIES

After class I went to Hornbacher’s to get some groceries for the next week or two. It is ideal to go grocery shopping at 7am. Not busy at all. Then you don’t have to battle the crowds after work. It is worth getting up early for.

I thought it would be fun to show you my loot for today. This is totally typical of me – what a mix of groceries!

DSCN2864

Most of our meat we buy locally or the husband shoots. This leaves me to get produce (not for long as I bought a half-share CSA at Bluebird Gardens that I’ll explain later), dairy and snacks. Pretty sweet.

DSCN2867

We will start with the “good stuff”: in the reusable bag (these are amazing and so much better than the plastic bags they offer at the store)

  • 3 oranges – good for breakfast or to accompany a beer
  • Green pepper
  • Grape tomatoes
  • Potatoes
  • Black olives (for the husband)
  • 2 heads of cauliflower (yum!)
  • Chips – maybe not good for you, but made from a veggie
  • Mayo – on sale (that stuff is spendy) and I had a coupon
  • 12 pack of Leinenkugel’s summer mix (my kind of beer – it came with a newsletter with a recipe and what to pair the beer with food wise!)

DSCN2866

Frozen foods

  • 3 lbs. chicken breast on sale for about $5ish
  • 18-pack of eggs (gosh we go through eggs between baking and eating. What a great protein source)
  • 2 bags of shredded on cheese for $2 each
  • Sour cream on sale for $1.88

DSCN2865

The baking goods! I had to restock and most of it was on sale. I don’t typically buy this every week.

  • Sugar
  • Four
  • Devil’s cake mix (have a recipe in mind for that!)
  • Cream cheese
  • Pudding
  • 2 bags of Nestle chocolate chips
  • Reese’s PB cups (recipe in mind!)
  • Powdered sugar
  • Dark brown sugar

Not included that I left at work: spinach salad mix, whole wheat waffles and a bday card. Also – I purchased 29 items and 18 of them were on sale. Pretty nice.

DSCN2879

Even though it is cold and dreary outside….see my backyard after work. Gross! And it is STILL snowing now!

DSCN2868

I am still ready for some summer drinks! This was my sampler pack. This is the way to go to taste a few different brews. Don’t get me wrong – I love American beer basics – Miller Lite, Bud Light, Select, etc. but there are so many other great ones to try. Go for it!

DSCN2878

Taste testing begins!

The husband and a friend were putting in (another) sump hole and pump in the basement so I cleaned and entertained myself. Although they were pretty entertaining working downstairs!

Kitty Brinklie is much better! Her paws are still a little sore…

DSCN2873DSCN2874DSCN2876

Switching up her poor little paws! This dumb green towel is her favorite thing?!?

DSCN2880

I can tell she is feeling better. You ever hear of a booze hound? This is a booze cat! Typical.

I have to go make some breakfast for dinner for the men working in this house. Venison sausage, homemade hashbrowns, toast and scrambled eggs. Typical!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

