Peanut Butter & Banana Treats

Happy Friday friends. I am trapped in the house a little bit this weekend. Due to the flooding it is a little difficult to get around in our neck of the woods. The roads are blocked or down to one lane and just to the north of us what once used to be a beautiful field has turned into a mine with trucks hauling clay 24 hours a day. This is loud and scary but I’m glad they are helped so many people out.

DSCN2759

This is to the north of us – the Red where you usually cannot even see a glimpse of it. I get choked up and so nervous when I am outside and see all of the water. I feel bad for all the people fighting for their homes and all the animals displaced by the flood waters. I feel so lucky – we have some basement issues going on but nothing major. One of my good friends has blocked access to her house and her husband is deployed right now for the Guard fighting the flood. I hope everyone stays safe and Fargo gets more permanent protection.

DSCN2761

My drive home about 0.2 miles from our house. Luckily the Wild Rice behind our house has not threatened us which would more likely flood us than the Red. After work today I talked the husband into taking me out for a quick happy hour. We both wanted to be home before dark due to all the activity in our area and the basement. He owed me a happy hour because I beat him (only be 2 points) in the March Madness NCAA poll! Score.

DSCN2756

We just went to Applebee’s on 45th Street since it is pretty close and they have an excellent happy hour.

DSCN2758

1/2 price appetizers and $3 tall domestics. Good enough for me.

DSCN2757

They have nice cold beers that I love. This Applebee’s location seems to never be very busy. We bellied up to the bar and were the only ones there for the duration of our meal.

I know I talked about posting my groceries here today but it was kind of a boring week for shopping so I’ll save that for another time. Since we are stuck in the house I decided to bake something that I should have baked a long time ago. Not a great human treat but I finally baked Peanut Butter doggie treats for Winston!

DSCN2762

You would think these ingredients could almost make cookies or something, right? I wanted to make something natural and easy. This dog eats anything so I don’t need to get all fancy!

DSCN2763

Blooper. I caught him mid-yawn!

DSCN2764

OK, that is better. In the kitchen and ready to assist and taste test. He is obviously excited.

DSCN2765

Ingredients based on a recipe I saw on www.allrecipes.com and altered to what I had on hand:

Peanut Butter and Banana Dog Biscuits
1 egg
1/3 c peanut butter
1 mashed banana (about 1/2 cup)
1 Tbsp honey
1 c whole wheat flour
*1/4 cup oatmeal
*1/4 cup Fiber One cereal (I hope this doesn’t come back to haunt me!)
1 beaten egg white for brushing

*Crush the Fiber One cereal. The original recipe had 1/2 cup of wheat germ but I didn’t have that. I’m sure 1/2 cup of just oatmeal would have been fine.

DSCN2766

Mash the banana with a fork. I just did this on the countertop. No shame here.

DSCN2767

Cream together the first 4 ingredients well. It should be nice and creamy like you are making cookies. Add in the dry ingredients.

DSCN2768

Mix well and roll out on the counter that has been dusted with whole wheat flour. I used my handy dandy DOG BONE cookie cutter to make some fun shapes. This was the whole recipe which was obviously written for a little dog. I would probably have to triple or quadruple it for Winston. But this was enough for the first try and a Friday night. Smile

DSCN2770

All laid out on a greased baking sheet.

DSCN2771

Brush with the egg white wash. Bake at 300* for 30 minutes.

DSCN2772

The finished product should be hard and browned kind of like Milk Bones.

DSCN2774

Winston was outside so I broke off a piece for little Brinklie to try.

DSCN2777

She doesn’t get treats and isn’t really into eating (compared to Winston anyway) and she ate it up so I thought that was good. She looks so pleased, right?!?! (Devil cat.)

DSCN2778

Finally the big boy came in and I said do you want a treat? He said, is the Pope Catholic?

DSCN2779

Oh Winston – he gobbled it up! I can’t really say if these are good treats or not but here are the facts:

  • Kitty Brinklie ate it and she doesn’t usually eat treats.
  • Winston wanted one before they were even baked.
  • Winston will eat anything, including, in no particular order: onions, meat, bones, lettuce, grapes, Dog Chow, grass, flies, eggs, chocolate chip cookies, hot dogs…OK, you get the point – anything!!
  • They were quick to make and made about one pan and a half.
  • The ingredients are not scary and you can feel safe feeding your animal.

Finally, a video I tried to take myself of Winston wanting another treat. One day maybe I’ll get the husband to photograph or tape something for me!

Winston wants a treat!

Have a good Friday. I’m watching Fashion Police on E! and enjoying a cocktail. Hopefully this weekend will bring a few more recipes!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Animals, Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Peanut Butter & Banana Treats

  1. Jodi Sutter says:

    Love the doggy video. It is very clear that Winston adores a good homemade treat!

Leave a Reply

