Homemade potato chips

Just a quick post this Wednesday evening. I had a long day today – 5:30am spin class, work a long day and then out to a friend’s house for a potluck. I took my BLT pasta salad and I’d say it was a hit – especially amongst the men. I need to get to bed so here is a quick idea for a side dish to go with burgers or sandwiches or almost anything – they are delicious!

DSCN2693

Simply evenly slice a potato (regular or sweet). I used a mandolin to ensure they were all the same width. You want them quite thin. I put all my slices in a bowl and evenly coated them with olive oil and then put them on a jelly roll pan sprayed with cooking spray – these want to stick so I would use both oils. Season to your preference.

Spread the potatoes out evenly – sweet are on top and regular on the bottom. You do not want to crowd them or have them overlapping or touching to make sure they cook evenly. I put my oven to 450* for about 40 minutes flipping half way through.

DSCN2700

Here is the finished product – you can see the sweet potatoes really shrunk down. These taste like potato chips or fried chips but much healthier. Get creative with the spices you use. I used the Cajun chips from JL Beers as inspiration and my sweet potato chips were nice and spicy. These are great dunked in cold ketchup, ranch or mustard. Enjoy!

Have a great Wednesday evening!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Sides. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

