FM Flood 2011

From the sounds and sights of things in Fargo the flood fight has gone full force. My parents were just here this past weekend and the river has risen so fast since they have left. A quick background – in 1997 the house we live was flooded to the entryway. Not bad, right? Well, we have a split level house so yeah, that was pretty bad. In 2009 we sandbagged but were safe. 2010 was OK and we pray that 2011 will also be OK. We have heard from Cass County (we live just south of Fargo city limits-so no city help) and after the past years many things have changed and are now protected. I took my dog Winston for a walk earlier tonight and below are some of the sights I saw. I had taken him for a walk this past summer and took some similar photos so I thought it would be fun to compare the same areas. As I type this the husband is in the basement vacuuming up water from our crawl space. Ugh, I hate you flooding.

houseDSCN2705

I think it isn’t necessary to say the one on the left is from last summer. This is actually not a lot of water at all in the front yard. There was so much more in 2009. This spring the culverts are open and water seems to be flowing away just fine.

DaviesDSCN2708

This is the new Davies High School is south Fargo and again now this spring. This is one of several cranes working in the area. I should note we have an awesome, amazing walking trail by our house on the east side of University. I made sure not to be in any ones way or gawking.

CemetaryDSCN2710

Same cemetery. I’m pretty sure you can’t normally see the river.

ArbDSCN2717

By the arbortorium at 58th Ave S and University.

DSCN2711

At least some people dogs enjoy the water.

DSCN2714

How some people dogs cool off after a walk.

DSCN2716

This is me before heading out on my bike after not riding for I don’t know, 10 years? Good thing I have that helmet on – yikes!

They just put up some pumps along US-81 (University). I hope Fargo makes it through another flood. These things are getting way too old.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Feisty Eats. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

