A Stir Fry Success

I love stir fry for a meal – it is so versatile. You can have it vegetarian, chicken, beef, pork, etc. I have been making stir fry for years and I generally throw together whatever I have that I ‘think’ will go together. Usually it is fine. Tonight, dare I say, I nailed it?

After looking at various cooking blogs and allrecipes.com (a great site for recipes and reviews) I think I came up what works for me. The best part is you can switch out most of these ingredients, or increase/decrease the measurements to make them work for you or your family. These ingredients can also EASILY be prepped the day before.

DSCN2723

Start by slicing an onion. Yes, I am still working my way through that 10 lb. bag my husband bought us. I might never eat onions again. Just kidding!

DSCN2724

That is not me! The husband helped me tonight. I said yesterday I was going to make up for skipping the gym Monday by going the rest of this week. Well, white lie. Instead I took our dog for a walk and then biked for about 45 minutes to get in SOME exercise. I was craving it. So the hubs helped speed things along. I suppose that is the REAL reason this recipe turned out so well, right husband? He thinly sliced approximately 1lb of round steak. This is a local beef we purchased and had processed at J&B Meats out of Barnesville, MN.

DSCN2725

Gather your ingredients for the sauce/marinade. These are some of the ingredients I used. My approximate measurements for the marinade:

1/2 c of low sodium soy sauce
3 Tbsp rice vinegar
2 scant Tbsp brown sugar
2 Tbsp cornstarch
1 tsp ground ginger (fresh would probably be better)
Minced garlic to your liking
1-2 tsp sriracha (Thai hot sauce) available at Hornbacher’s
A good pinch (or to your liking) of red pepper flakes (I like things hot so I tend to go overboard)
–stir all together with a spoon

DSCN2726

Then pour the sauce/marinade over your sliced beef and let it sit and sink in and quickly marinade the meat.

DSCN2729

Take a screaming hot pan and sauté your onion. A lot of recipes say to add a Tbsp of oil to sauté each item. You do not need to do that, a small amount will do. The pan is hot and will do most of the work for you. You want to get some of that yummy brown color on it. Remove from pan and set aside in a bowl.

DSCN2730

Next add in some veggies of your liking. I bought this vegetable stir fry pack at Hornbacher’s on sale for like $1.50 or $2 and it was perfect for this dish. The veggies are already cut up and there was a broccoli slaw in there, broccoli and snap peas. It was great. I have used frozen veggie mixes in the past but prefer fresh for the crisp bite they have.

DSCN2731

Again be sure to get a little color on those veggies. It won’t take long with a hot pan. Remove them to the same bowl as the onions.

DSCN2732

Finally you will want to add the meat in 2-3 batches so you don’t crowd the pan and have one even layer. The meat will cook very quickly.

DSCN2733

The marinade makes the meat a lovely brown color. Remove and finish cooking the rest of the beef. Do not overcook.

DSCN2734

Cool the pan down and put all the veggies and meat together. Pour in the remaining sauce/marinade with the veggie/meat mixture. I wouldn’t worry about the marinade sitting in raw beef. You will still cook this mix with the veggies and meat. If you are scurred (scared) just separate the sauce/marinade mixture at the beginning.

DSCN2735

I served the stir fry over a bed of brown rice. I made the rice in the microwave. Those rice packets are another great time saver – it takes 3 minutes to cook in my microwave. To make it more “homemade” I just make a quick stir fry with a splash of sesame oil and some eggs scrambled into the rice. Of course, you could add other veggies or whatever your heart desires. The husband prefers eggs in his stir fry and who am I to say no?

DSCN2737

The meal all together – fried rice, beef stir fry and veggie egg rolls (egg rolls were bought – I can’t do it all)!

DSCN2738

Toppings: husband prefers chow mien noodles, soy sauce (I think it didn’t need more) and sriracha. I also added some fresh cilantro (YUM!) and sesame seeds with my sriracha.

DSCN2739

My final plate. OK, there might have been a few more bites. This was so good and I’m happy to have written this down and will make it again soon. Maybe the husband’s parents will come over and test it out? This easily made 4 decent sized portions which means leftovers for work!

Have a great night.

DSCN2646

Oops, almost forgot. Brinklie, my kitten, says hello and the dinner sure did smell good.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Stir Fry Success

  1. kate says:

    Okay it is 8:18 in the a.m. and I wan’t stir fry……looks great.

  2. Carol leidholm says:

    What a great site, sis, you are wasting your talent at your job, you need to start your own business…your Mom and I will be your managers, if we have time,, because we are both very busy you know…

Leave a Reply

