BLT Pasta Salad

I hope you are having a wonderful Monday. I don’t know why but I tend to suffer from insomnia on Sunday nights. Last night I was up until about 1am and my alarm was set for 5am. Between the few hours of sleep and my crazy weekend (I partied hard on Saturday to celebrate my sister’s 30th b-day!) I turned the 5am alarm off and made the decision to stay home and sleep until 7am instead of go to spin class. Often times I regret missing a workout but today I was happy to have the two extra hours of sleep and told myself I’d make up the time at the gym.

This Wednesday I am getting together with a few of my college girlfriends. We had a close circle of friends and most of us are living in Fargo now, so we try to get together at least once a month to catch up on each others lives. Of course, that is difficult between marriages, jobs, babies and all the stuff life throws at you. My friend lives in Harwood and offered to host our crew including kids and men.

I always worry about what to bring to the potluck and what would be good, what items I have on hand, etc. I have so many recipes I have cut, want to try and want to share with friends. Just last weekend I cut a recipe for BLT Pasta Salad from the inside of a pasta package. Both the husband and I are not huge pasta fans but this brink of spring weather makes me want to make something cold and refreshing.

DSCN2691

I had almost all the ingredients on hand but had to stop by Hornbacher’s to grab a green pepper. I cut it in a fairly small dice because the husband isn’t a big fan of green pepper. Hopefully the salad will be eaten at the potluck but in case of leftovers I want to make sure nothing is wasted!

DSCN2692

My husband has picked up a bunch of Roma tomatoes for this recipe while they were on sale. How thoughtful. I don’t care for tomato seeds so I just slice off on or two slices from the top of the tomato and squeeze the insides into the garbage disposal. This also helps so the salad will not get watery. Look how cleaned out that tamater is!

The recipe didn’t call for it, but I also added some finely diced onion. I rarely follow a recipe exactly and I think you should alter the recipe to your needs or likes, especially if it isn’t a baked goods recipe.

DSCN2694

Slice the tomatoes and then dice them up. I love those wonderful colors.

DSCN2695

Add the veggies to some whole wheat noodles that are cooked to al dente and cooled. I wish I had some cork screw pasta instead of these regular noodles. When I went to get the noodles I found that the cork screws were already 1/2 gone. Whoopsie! Improvise!

DSCN2696

And don’t forget the chopped and cooled bacon. My husband had been grilling something over the weekend and I asked him to throw the bacon on  in anticipation of making this salad. My favorite way to make bacon is on the grill. No mess and no smell. I am a little embarrassed because even though I love all foods I don’t really care for bacon too much. The horror, right?

DSCN2697

Winston really seemed to like this recipe. He had his snout up towards the counter the whole time I was chopping the bacon!

DSCN2698

The recipe called for 3/4c of salad dressing, mayo or Miracle Whip. I always try to use a lesser amount of the “bad for you” ingredients. I find that often the recipe calls for too much. If, after mixed, there is not enough sauce you can always add more. If needed I might add in some light sour cream with some herbs instead of more salad dressing. Every little bit helps and I think that would be flavorful as well. Add some salt or pepper or whatever spices you prefer.

DSCN2699

All mixed together and ready for Wednesday’s potluck. Naturally, the hubs and I had to sample for quality control and safety reasons. The husband said it was “pretty darn good”. I’ll take it!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Salad, Sides. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to BLT Pasta Salad

  1. Megan Rosten says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! We used to live in Fargo, but have now lived in Bismarck for the past 7 1/2 years. That pasta salad looks delicious!

    • Feisty Eats says:

      Thanks Megan. Your site looks great – my Mom actually tipped me off to it (she lives in Washburn) and I have you in my Google reader. Your site is definitely an inspiration as I try to grow mine. Best wishes!

  2. kate says:

    Hummmm never thought about cleaning out my tomato…salad look fabu I thnk I will make it with golf pasta.

Leave a Reply

