Peanut Butter Fingers

Ahhh, Monday. I really do not like Mondays. I am generally still trying to recover from having two whole days off of work and being lazy, having fun or whatever it is. It seems like I am never ready for that 5am alarm clock. The alarm got shut off but my little kitty Brinklie was there to lick my nose and annoy me enough to make me get up and go to the gym. BTW, what cat licks your nose/face? I think she thinks she is part dog. What a silly girl! I did feel better after a sweaty spin session, so thanks kitty.

The husband had mentioned in passing that he had a meeting Tuesday and if I wanted to bake something he could take it to the meeting. For a quick comparison, my office has 8 employees and his has probably nearly 400. Of course, he doesn’t work directly with all of them but you get an idea where food will go faster. I love to cook and bake but naturally, we can’t always eat all of this food I make!

When I got home it was a balmy 33* and I quickly started the grill to make some pork chops. In the meantime, I am wondering what I can bake that will be tasty, but honestly, very quick to make. I consulted Tasty Kitchen and sure enough, I found a recipe for Peanut Butter Fingers. Easy? Check. All the ingredients (I am out of milk)? Check. Quick? Check. Game on.

I decided it would be best if I could mix these up while getting supper ready and bake while eating supper so I could be as lazy as possible Monday night – per usual, in our house!

DSCN2629

Well, that means creaming sugars and butter while eating your dinner salad. It’s OK! Multi-tasking is my friend. 1/2 c sugar, 1/2 c brown sugar and 1/2 c butter.

DSCN2630

In the meantime, the pork chops are grilling and the veggies are getting ready. One of my favorite tips to make quick, easy food that tastes good: utilize those steam bags of veggies. I had one green bean bag and I had some frozen corn from fresh corn on the cob the previous fall. I nuked them both and then got a sauté pan screaming hot with just a little olive oil and put the veggies in there for a few minutes to brown and seasoned with some seasoned salt, garlic salt and a little balsamic vinaigrette. Delicious and tastes better than just microwaved veggies.

DSCN2631

Mix in the rest of your ingredients – 1 egg, vanilla, baking soda, salt, oats and flour. The mixture will be quite thick.

DSCN2632

Spread it out in a greased cake pan. You can see how thick it is…it’ll spread easy for you though.

DSCN2633

Bake at 350* for 15-20 minutes. I ALWAYS err on the lower number. I personally love my baked good slightly undercooked. Just made sure it is cooked and brown on the edges and you should be good to go. *Side note*: as always I tasted the batter. I also gave a little taste to the husband. We ate dinner as this was baking. I checked the oven and the husband says you have to bake those? He cracks me up sometimes. Yes, of course. Although I COULD have just eaten the batter – that was tasty indeed.

DSCN2634

This is the easiest kind of frosting. After the pan comes out of the oven pour a bag of chocolate chips on the bars.

DSCN2635

After a few minutes they get nice and melted and then use a spatula to spread the chocolate evenly. Finally, as any good baker would do…

DSCN2636

Sample them! You can’t send off a pan of bars to your husband’s workplace without tasting them first. You need to make sure they are edible after all. Smile

Have a great week. I have a fun cake coming up later this week!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Peanut Butter Fingers

  1. kate says:

    I am so making these for coffee break at work . The guys will love them!! Thanks

Leave a Reply

