Making sugar cookies

Everything on the mini countertop

All the goodies are lined up to make some awesome sugar cookies. My grannie makes the best frosted sugar cookies in the world so I wasn’t going to even attempt to compete with those. These are just plain sugar cookies with no frosting. They have oil and butter so it’s going to be good!

Making sure my cookbook is ready and propped open for easy instruction.

The Pioneer Woman Cooks cookbook

I wanted to take a few photos to see you what goes on in our kitchen on the weekend. It is usually a pretty busy place. Asparagus was only $1.68/lb at Hornbacher’s (my fave grocery store) compared to the $4 it was so the husband pickled some for treats this summer. Yum!

Pickled asparagus

I had requested the husband make up some chili with lots of spice and onions. He did not disappoint. He is a great chili chef but that is another story for another time.

Crock-pot chili

I had also roasted some veggies for work lunch (carrots, cabbage and zucchini) and the husband asked me to bake these bones he had left from making deer sausage for Winston. So I stuck them in the oven. He said, did you season them? I’m like ha, ha, very funny. He’s like no seriously, I usually do. And we wonder why he is a bit tubby?

Lots of doggie pork bones

Cream together the wet ingredients and sugars – 2 eggs, 2 sticks of butter, 1 c of canola oil, 1 c sugar and 1 c powdered sugar and vanilla. Almond extra would have been nice too and I think I’ll try that next.

Mix 'er up!

Don’t forget your assistant! He could barely keep his eyes open. He wasn’t much help with this recipe.

Aww, who is tired?

Mix in the dry ingredients which called for 4 cups + 2 Tbsp of flour (dumb), cream of tartar!, salt, baking powder and I think that was it.

4 cups was fine for me

Mix. Taste test. Really delicious by the way. Don’t worry about those raw eggs!

Batter or cookies? Batter please!

While batter chills for one hour do your dishes, catch up on housework or read the paper!

Place in fridge for at least 1 hour to chill.

Oh random but the husband also bought up 10 LBS of onions!! He thinks we can eat them before they go bad. We really love onions but we’ll see…

Lots of onions

After the hour is up spoon cookies onto an ungreased pan.
Take the bottom of a water glass, smear it with a dab of butter and dip it in a bowl of sugar and use it to flatten cookies.

Flatten, don't smoosh

I prefer to underbake them just a little bit

Bake at 350* for 9-10 mins and cool. This is a really easy recipe and pretty tasty too. Crisp on the edges and buttery, fluffy and moist in the middle. YUM, gotta go eat another one now!
These melt in your mouth and are oh, so delicious! Thank you Pioneer Woman!
About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cookies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

