Peanut Butter Crunch Éclair Bars

This was a recipe I saw online and knew I had to make it. Some recipes just hit me that way. I don’t know why. I like a variety of food as you can tell and this was one I had to try!

IMG_1970

See 3 distinct layers? Peanut butter/corn flake base, thin yellow vanilla pudding like middle and silky smooth chocolate topping. I couldn’t even wait for these to completely set before I dug in. Oops – story of my life.

IMG_1962

Peanut Butter Crunch Éclair Bars adapted from Cookies and Cups

  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup light corn syrup
  • 2 cups creamy peanut butter
  • 8 cups Frosted Flakes cereal
  • 3/4 cup and 1/2 cup butter, divided
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 4 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 (3.4 oz., 4 serving sized) packets of sugar-free instant vanilla pudding
  • 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

How to Make

  1. Line a 15x10x1″ jelly roll pan with parchment paper. Spray lightly with cooking spray.
  2. In a medium saucepan combine corn syrup and sugar over medium heat. Bring to a boil and then let boil for 1 more minute, stirring occasionally.
  3. Remove from heat and stir in peanut butter until evenly combined. Then stir in Frosted Flakes until coated. Pour mixture into prepared pan and spread evenly.
  4. For pudding layer, in large sauce pan, melt 3/4 cup butter over medium-low heat. Add in powdered sugar and pudding mix. Whisk together, gradually adding milk. Mixture will be slightly lumpy, but do your best to whisk out the majority of the lumps.
  5. Pour pudding mix over the crust and spread.
  6. In another medium saucepan melt 1/2 cup butter and chocolate chips together over low heat.
  7. When melted, spread over pudding layer.
  8. Chill for an hour before cutting into squares.

Notes – Cut into 60 bars – these are sweet and a little dab will do you.

Serve chilled or at room temperature. Store in an airtight container for up to 2 days.

IMG_1963IMG_1964

The base is very similar to scotcharoos. My hint is to dump it all onto a greased parchment piece of paper. Then, take your cooking spray and spray your hand and rub hands together to spread this base. It makes it so much easier.

IMG_1965IMG_1966

The middle layer comes together quickly. Don’t forget to add the milk. This makes it easier to spread. Trust me.

IMG_1967IMG_1968

Frost and cool if you can wait.

IMG_1969

These are amped up scotcharoos.

IMG_1971

See the 3 layers?

IMG_1972

These were a hit with my tasters and I bet kids would love these. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Peanut Butter Crunch Éclair Bars

  1. Jane Craig says:

    The Peanut Butter Crunch Eclair Bars are super yummy. My only question was: How much milk? I went to the original recipe and saw that it was 1/4 cup. I added it to the melting butter (I used margarine). I did sift the pudding and powdered sugar before whisking it into the liquid and did not have even one lump. Thanks for a keeper!

  2. Feisty Eats says:

    Right on. Thanks again for reading. I am so glad you enjoyed these bars!

Leave a Reply

