Raspberry Crumble Pie

This might be my proudest baking moment ever! Sure, this was a tasty pie…but it was my best ever. And 100% homemade. Sure, I have made pies before. Using (I am embarrassed) store bought, pre-made crusts. Now, I still don’t think there is anything wrong with that, but after making this pie, I wanted to make 10 more. Why was I so scared in the first place? I am not a huge pie fan, but I wanted to eat this whole thing. For real. I want to make it again with a pretty criss-crossed pie crust on top.

IMG_1887

This crust features straight butter. I know there are some big debates on which is better – butter or shortening. My grandmother uses shortening and I KNOW I cannot live up to her pies. Hers are the best! So, I thought I’d make my own path and try butter.

IMG_1873

For the Crust

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt (don’t skimp!)
  • 1/2 cup butter, diced and chilled (DO NOT SUB MARGARINE)
  • 5-7 tablespoons of ice water, just until it comes together

For the Filling

  • 4-5 cups fresh raspberries
  • 2 tsp. lemon juice
  • 1/3 cup cornstarch
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract

For the Crumble

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 stick butter

Make the Crust

  1. Combine flour and salt in food processor. Add butter and process until it resembles coarse crumbs. Add water, one tablespoon at a time, until mixture forms a ball.
  2. Two options for the next step: wrap in plastic and refrigerate 4 hours or overnight, until ready to use OR roll out crust immediately between two pieces of wax paper and press into pie plate. Chill at least 30 minutes, while you are getting the rest of the filling ready.

For the filling, mix together raspberries, lemon juice, cornstarch, sugar and vanilla in bowl. Let sit while you roll out the pie dough.

For the Crumble Topping:

  1. Whisk together the flour and the sugar.
  2. Cut in the butter with a pastry cutter or fork until mixture is crumbly.

Assemble: 

  1. Pour in the berry filling.
  2. Cover with the crumble topping.
  3. Bake at 400° for 40 minutes.

Crust adapted from: Something Swanky

Pie adapted from: PBS Food Blog

Crumble adapted from: Crazy for Crust

IMG_1875

Hi from the FeistyCat– she was on the hunt for a piece of string no doubt. Smile

IMG_1876IMG_1877

Pie is SO EASY to make if you use your food processor. Again, why haven’t I done this before? I just mixed it together, formed it into a ball and refrigerated it overnight. 

IMG_1880IMG_1881

The fruit filling was also easy. Look at these gorgeous berries I got at Krause’s! Pie is a true dessert that doesn’t used any really weird packaged ingredients (which are OK to use sometimes anyway) and features in-season, beautiful fruit.

IMG_1883IMG_1884

I rolled out the dough on my flat top stove so it was about the same size as my pie plate and rolled it loosely on the rolling pin to drop it into the pie plate. I just crimped the edges so they were even and cut off a little extra that hung over. You can toss it, or as my grandmother did – put a little butter and cinnamon sugar on it and bake along side the pie on some tinfoil. Those were THE BEST pieces. Place your berries in your pie – I took a photo so you can see they are coated a bit in the cornstarch.

IMG_1886IMG_1888

I made the crumble in the food processor as well!

IMG_1889

Bake until just golden on top.

IMG_1892

You must serve with fresh whipped and slightly sweetened cream. This isn’t quite as sweet as jelly, but just slightly sweeter then the already juicy sweet berries are. I could probably eat half this pie myself.

IMG_1893

But I shared! The pie was super juicy, but held together quite well with the addition of cornstarch. Don’t be like me and think pie making is too difficult. Make this today. Berries are a steal in the grocery store – don’t wait!!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert, Pie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

