Hot dog kebabs

Is this a serious post? Yes, it is. I am posting a recipe for Hot Dog Kebabs or Kebobs, whichever you prefer. Cut me some slack though – these were easy and good. Besides, who wants to sit behind a computer working on the blog when it is the Fourth of July week?!

IMG_1649

A lot of seasonal veggies with bites of hot dog wrapped in bacon. Dressed simply with spicy mustard and ketchup.

IMG_1637

This actually started out as a little experiment. I think it was a success, so I will post. This would be a good project for your 4th-grader to make. I Googled hot dog kebabs and got a few pictures, but nothing really what I was looking for. I had a serious hot dog craving, but didn’t want a traditional bun and dog. Here is what I did.

Hot Dog Kebabs:

  • 4 hot dogs, cut into 4 pieces each
  • 3 pieces of bacon cut into thirds (one hot dog didn’t have bacon)
  • 1/3 each red, yellow and green peppers chopped into cubes
  • 1-2 Roma tomatoes, cubed and seeded
  • 1/2 small onion chopped into cubes
  • Pickled jalapenos as you like

Basting mix:

  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 1/4 cup mustard (we used spicy)

Chop all your ingredients. Wrap bacon around hot dog pieces. Skewer ingredients alternately on kebab sticks. Baste with ketchup/mustard mixture throughout grilling.

IMG_1639

Everything tastes good on a stick. Even these!

IMG_1641

I used a basting mix of spicy mustard and ketchup. This is best to apply 1/2 way through grilling in my opinion.

IMG_1642

Side note! Does anyone know what this is? I didn’t at first. I was at my Aunt’s house (who, by the way, is an excellent cook – like Ina Garten style) and she had one of these. This is a salt cellar. According to my research (again, thanks Google) these were used prior to salt shakers. Salt used to be very expensive and was a sign of status to have this on your table for guests. The cellar is used now for home cooks because it does not clump. You can use a “fancy” type salt if you want, instead of plan table salt. You can see mine is empty, but I have since fixed that. Thank you to my wonderful and generous auntie. What a sweetheart, right?

IMG_1643

OK, back to the dog kebabs. Here they are all grilled. Basically, you just have to make sure the bacon gets cooked and you are good to go.

IMG_1644IMG_1646

Bah, ha ha! Winston is always wanting a bite. Poor buddy rarely gets one. He is too cute.

IMG_1648

I am sure kids would like these. Probably minus the jalapenos, peppers, tomatoes and onions! Ha!! But seriously, kebabs are so fun to eat, they might even like splitting the bun up in pieces and skewered that with hot dog pieces. Just for a change.

IMG_1650

Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Grilling, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hot dog kebabs

  1. Jamie Rust says:

    This is a GREAT idea! With traditional kebabs (with steak) usually the veggies get way overcooked in an attempt to fully cook the meat. And like you said this would be an easy kitchen project for kids to help with diner, and maybe eat their vegetables!

Leave a Reply

