Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

OK, finally a dessert! I seem to get the most positive comments on my dessert recipes. However, with summer, I bake less and usually look for non-bake recipes if I do make dessert. Well, warm your oven up. BUT, this is well worth it and has a very quick baking time. This would be great to share if you are having anyone over for the 4th of July!

IMG_1805

Please take note of that luscious frosting. But here is the thing – these aren’t TOO sweet, not TOO peanut buttery, not TOO dense or TOO heavy. They are extremely moist and wonderful. Peanut butter lovers – put this one into your recipe rotation stat.

IMG_1793

I bet you already have all the ingredients on hand! I was inspired to make this by a few cracked eggs. See that yellow egg container on the right? We use that to take eggs camping and it got dropped and I couldn’t let two measly eggs go to waste! Ingredients via the Tasty Kitchen website, as written – this had excellent reviews, so I wanted to give it a try myself. This makes a jelly roll pan – great for sharing.

FOR THE SHEET CAKE:

  • 2 cups Sugar
  • 2 cups All-purpose Flour
  • 2 whole Large Eggs
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1 cup Sour Cream
  • ⅔ cup Creamy Peanut Butter
  • 1 cup Butter
  • 1 cup Water

FOR THE PEANUT BUTTER FROSTING:

  • ½ cup Butter
  • ⅔ cup Creamy Peanut Butter
  • 6 Tablespoons Milk
  • 2-½ cups Powdered Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla

Preparation Instructions

Preheat oven to 400ºF.

For the cake: In a bowl combine the sugar and flour. In a separate bowl (I used my mixer bowl) mix eggs, baking soda, and sour cream well. Set aside. In a small saucepan combine peanut butter, butter, and water. Bring to a boil. Stir the boiled peanut butter mixture into the flour mixture, then add to the sour cream mixture. Pour into a greased 15×10 inch sheet/jellyroll type pan, lined with parchment if you prefer. Bake 20 minutes or until done. Cake is done when a toothpick inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean.

For the frosting: Combine the butter, peanut butter, and milk in a saucepan. Bring to a boil stirring constantly. The mixture might look a bit curdled at this point, but it comes together when you add the powdered sugar and mix well. Let the frosting cool for a few minutes, then add vanilla. The frosting will be thick; mix well. Pour over cake while both are still warm. Let cool, then serve. My frosting stayed drippy, but that might have been the temperature and humidity – either way, it was glorious!

IMG_1794

I just had 3 stations set up and ready. The pan, the dry and the rest of the wet in the mixer.

IMG_1795

The batter will be quite thin.

IMG_1796IMG_1797

While you pour and spread the cake in the pan get it baking, you can get your frosting ready.

IMG_1799

FeistyCat is playing peek-a-boo. She can just barely see over the countertop. Forbid if she missed a step!

IMG_1800IMG_1801

The bars come out looking nice and brown just as the frosting is coming together. The frosting seems a bit thin, but sets up somewhat.

IMG_1802

Be sure to spread your frosting to all corners. I had a few specks from my powdered sugar – you could sift it in advance to omit that small issue if you would like.

IMG_1803IMG_1804

My frosting did thicken up some, but it stayed a bit drippy, which was still delicious. I suspect this was due to the warm day and higher humidity when I made these. No complaints though. You could probably add more powdered sugar to thicken it.

IMG_1806

Don’t you want to lick your screen?

IMG_1807

I shared these with friends and co-workers and I heard no complaints! In fact, my sister made these shortly after I did (at my insistence) and said she also loved them. These are just like any other sheet cake I have made – delicious, easy and crowd pleasing! To get nicely cut pieces, use a plastic knife. It works great!

IMG_1808

Winston says enjoy! Woof!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter Sheet Cake with Chocolate Icing | Feisty Eats

Leave a Reply

