Quesadilla burger

Hey guys! Remember that pico de gallo I made earlier this week? Here is a great way to use up any that is still left. It has been quite warm out – so take your food preparation outside and grill this burger.

IMG_1791

Mr. FeistyEats told me about an amazing quesadilla burger he had at Applebee’s one day. Well, I can do that, right? I looked up the recipe and it had bacon in it. So I went ahead and came up with my own version – bacon free.

IMG_1785

Quesadilla burgers

  • 1 lb. ground meat
  • 2-3 green onions, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce (MAKES A BURGER SO JUICY!)
  • 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • dash of red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. paprika
  • 1/2 tsp. dried oregano leaves
  • 1/2 tsp. black pepper

Toppings

  • Colby jack cheese
  • Flatout wraps, hamburger bun or your choice, or bread
  • Avocado sauce (optional)
  • Pico de gallo
  • Lettuce

Combine all ingredients together up through the black pepper. You want the pour the spices evenly over your burger and form into 4 patties that are roughly the same size. Grill on your grill until done to your preferred color. Medium is always nice I think. Top burgers with cheese and let the cheese melt so it is nice and gooey.

Take a tortilla or Flatout and lightly grill it on both sides to warm it up. Quickly garnish your burger with whatever you would like – I used an avocado sauce, lettuce and plenty of pico de gallo. Taco sauce might be nice as well. No ketchup please. 

IMG_1787

Soooo, have any of you eaten these Flatout wraps? I think I have talked about them before, but I must profess my love for them again. Krause’s sells them and I have noticed a few different varieties. So far, I have loved them all. In fact, they are on sale at Krause’s this week and I am going to stock up on them. They are in the cooler by the deli counter where the cheese and take and bake pizzas are.

IMG_1788IMG_1789

You can probably see in the left photo above that I just kind of squish my burger out, layer on the spices and then make four even sized patties. I have heard the less you handle ground beef, the better so don’t mess around too much. Grill your burgers until almost done and top with cheese to melt it. No one really likes non melted cheese on a burger. Nasty.

IMG_1790

The more toppings the better. One half of a Flatout was enough for one burger. The pico gives you a nice cold, slightly spicy bite, you have the creamy avocado and the crisp lettuce to give you some great flavors and textures.

IMG_1792

OK! I might have filled my burger up a LITTLE too much. Don’t worry, I managed to eat it all. This was a great way to change up a regular old burger. Make it your own with various toppings, cheeses or “bun” options. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Grilling, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

