Grilled firecracking chicken

I made up the ‘word’ firecracking and I also made up this recipe. I think it turned out great though. Even leftover it was delicious.

IMG_1770

I thought firecracking was good because this has grilled jalapenos on it. Totally optional if you don’t like heat. Remember though, when grilled without the seeds and ribs the jalapeno loses a lot of heat.

IMG_1768

Firecracking chicken for 2

  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 1/4 cup zesty Italian dressing
  • Chicken seasoning of your preference (I like Montreal Poultry seasoning and black pepper)
  • 1 jalapeno – seeds and ribs removed, cut into strips
  • 4 slices of bacon
  • Colby Jack cheese
  • 2 Tbsp. of your favorite bbq sauce

The night before grilling, marinade your chicken in the zesty dressing and sprinkle generously with seasoning. Let this marinade in the fridge until the next evening. Get your grill warm and add your chicken breasts and strips of jalapeno. Try to keep the temp at a steady 350. Add bacon when you flip the chicken and cook both thoroughly. Right before the chicken is ready done, place 1 Tbsp. of your favorite bbq sauce (I used a mustard based one) on each breast and a few slices of cheese. Allow the cheese to melt. Top with grilled jalapeno strips and 2 slices of bacon. Serve alongside some veggies.

IMG_1769

I have to tell you also that you can grill pretty much any veggie in a tinfoil packet. I took cauliflower, cut it up, seasoned it and put on a little olive oil and it tasted delicious and almost just like it steams in the tin foil bag.

IMG_1771

Cook your bacon to you preferred done-ness. I like it crispy. The bright orange on the chicken in the mustard-y BBQ sauce, then topped with some freshly sliced cheese and melted. So gooey and perfect that way.

IMG_1772

By seasoning and marinating the chicken the night before it stays so super moist and juicy. It is best to cook this chicken at around 350 on your grill – lower and slower. Don’t char the heck out of it.

IMG_1773

I told Mr. FeistyEats that this could be served in a restaurant. I would for sure order it.

IMG_1774

It probably helps that there is some nice crisp bacon in every bite. I am not a huge bacon fan, but it was wonderful in this dish. Oh, I love summer and grilling so, so much. I haven’t as much time for baking, but that is OK!

IMG_1780

Well, that is meow folks! Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Grilling, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

