Relay for Life – 2012

Not a recipe in this post, but an event we recently went to that opened my eyes a bit and I wanted to share here.

IMG_1712

Shortly after we relocated to Hazen, Mr. FeistyEats told me he was going to be on his company’s Relay for Life team. I thought that was great and obviously, I think everyone can agree this is a worthy cause. I was happy for him to volunteer and get involved.

IMG_1715

Mr. FeistyEats and I holding his team sign (Lifesavers) at the park in Beulah where Mercer County’s Relay for Life was held.

Throughout the year, he would mention this or that fundraiser and I donated some money to him right away. But I never heard much more than that. He told me he was going to Relay for Life and asked if I wanted to go. I was going to pass, but really had nothing going on so I reluctantly went along. His other teammates were just lovely and invited me to walk as well. OK I thought!

IMG_1717

The paper bags dedicated to a person who has fought cancer is astonishing and a bit overwhelming to be honest. It is amazing to think of all these people who are loved and were affected with cancer. Cancer is evil and we all know someone who has had cancer. It affects every family, mine included – both of my grandpa’s.

IMG_1718

They had some great items under the tent for a silent auction. There were a few I wanted to bid on, but I wasn’t going to be there when it ended. Bummer!

IMG_1719

H O P E. Here are some of the things they did at the Relay for Life – most of this info was found from the Relay for Life website.

What is Relay for Life?

  • Overnight relay-style event
  • Teams of people camp out around a track
  • Members of each team take turns walking around the track for the duration of the event
  • Food, games and activities provide entertainment and fundraising opportunities
  • Family-friendly environment for the entire community

Our event started with a few poem’s read, the national anthem sang, a prayer and a speech by a lady whose mother had cancer. A spokesperson also talked about cancer and how the Relay for Life donations help fight cancer. The teams were all announced and spread out on the field – many of them had costumes and a “theme” song they walked out to. The top fundraisers were announced as well.

The relay starts with a Survivors Lap – an inspirational time when survivors are invited to circle the track together and help everyone celebrate the victories they have achieved over cancer.

We started walking and seeing the bags with so many names on them. Mercer County also has a Mr. Relay for Life where men dress up as women in a beauty pageant. I wonder if Mr. FeistyEats would do that? Heh heh.

I wasn’t able to stay for the whole event – but I do know they light the bags (they all have a candle in the bag and glow throughout the night) and read all the names on the bags.

History of Relay

One person can make a difference. Nowhere is that more evident than with the story of the American Cancer Society Relay For Life, which began in Tacoma, Washington. In the mid-1980s, Dr. Gordy Klatt, a Tacoma colorectal surgeon, wanted to enhance the income of his local American Cancer Society office and to show support for all of his patients who had battled cancer. He decided to personally raise money for the fight by doing something he enjoyed – running marathons.

In May 1985, Dr. Klatt spent a grueling 24 hours circling the track at Baker Stadium at the University of Puget Sound in Tacoma. He ran for more than 83 miles. That first year, nearly 300 of Dr. Klatt’s friends, family, and patients watched as he ran and walked the course. Throughout the night, friends donated $25 to run or walk with Dr. Klatt for 30 minutes. His efforts raised $27,000 to fight cancer.

While circling the track those 24 hours, Dr. Klatt thought about how others could take part in his mission to fight cancer. He envisioned a 24-hour team relay event that could raise more money to fight cancer. Over the next few months, he pulled together a small committee to plan the first team relay event, known as the City of Destiny Classic 24-Hour Run Against Cancer.

In 1986, with the help of Pat Flynn – now known as the “Mother of Relay” – 19 teams took part in the first team Relay event on the track at the historic Stadium Bowl and raised $33,000. An indescribable spirit prevailed at the track and in the tents that dotted the infield.

IMG_1720

This lady talked about cancer and how we all want it eliminated, especially for future generations and she touched her (pregnant) belly while she was saying that. I don’t know if she even noticed? It was a sweet moment and brought a tear to my eye for sure. Her tank top said future relayer on the front. Cute!

IMG_1725

This team was decked out in cow gear – how fun.

IMG_1727

I had to snap a photograph of the photographer for our local paper. He probably isn’t used to that.

IMG_1729

Lots of volunteers!

IMG_1731

The ones in purple lead the survivors lap.

Here is the thing though – Mr. FeistyEats didn’t hardly ask anyone for a donation – not even anyone in my family. So I think next year he should be on the team again and we can work together to raise even more money to fight cancer. I typically donate every year and what better way to do that than give on behalf of my husband. So family and friends, start saving your pennies because I will be hitting you up for donations next year. This is an excellent event for a great cause!

IMG_1738IMG_1740IMG_1742IMG_1744

Some of the bags were so nicely decorated!

IMG_1758IMG_1760IMG_1761IMG_1762

These were just a few of Mr. FeistyEat’s bags including for Corrine (his aunt who passed earlier this year and we miss her a lot), his dad (a survivor) and his niece’s reading teacher.

I am already looking forward to Relay for Life 2013.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in FeistyLife. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

