Lemon Bars

Another guest post from my Mom! I have found as the days are getting longer and the sun a bit warmer, I have a much tougher time finding TIME to dedicate to blogging. Of course, I am still cooking and eating (DUH!), but I am not at my computer very much. I am OUTSIDE, man! Luckily, I was at my parents recently and she wanted to make something LEMON-y and I had a recipe I was wanting to try and she volunteered to make it and take a few photos. Thanks Mom! Her food is always better anyway.

100_0382

The finished product – a dense lemon cake and a sweet, light lemon glaze.

100_0378

The recipe is adapted from Picky Palate (great recipes) and is supposed to be a copycat of Starbucks Iced Lemon Cake. I can’t say for sure, as I never had it. But lemon anything (dessert-wise) to me, is a winner!

1 box lemon cake mix
4.3 ounce instant Lemon pudding mix
1/2 cup vegetable oil
4 large eggs
1/2 cup milk
8 ounces sour cream (note here – my Mom only had about 1/3 cup of sour cream, so she also used about 4 oz. of cream cheese which worked fine)
6 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
Icing
2 1/2 cups powdered sugar
3-4 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. and spray a cake pan generously with cooking spray.
2. Place all cake ingredients in no particular order into stand or electric mixer, beating until well combined, about 1 1/2 minutes. Spread evenly into cake pan. Bake for 45-55 minutes, until golden brown and cooked through. Let cool.
3. To prepare icing, place powdered sugar into a large bowl. Drizzle in lemon juice stirring until smooth and thick. Should be a good drizzling consistency. Drizzle icing over cake and let set for 20 minutes for a firm icing. Note: You can make this same recipe into cupcakes, small loaves and even a layered cake. Adjust baking time accordingly.

100_0379

You have to love those recipes where you just dump everything in a bowl and mix. Easy!

100_0380

Cake batter only. I bet that tastes good!

100_0381

Baked cake only – let it cool!

100_0382

Frosted and ready to eat. A few interesting notes from the chef: “I only had about 1/3 cup of sour cream for this recipe so I also used about 4 oz. cream cheese I had. I think it wouldn’t be a good bread but are real good bars. I also think they flavored up more the day after. We are licking them up pretty fast.

I don’t have any photos of these cut individually, but I did get to taste one and I really enjoyed it. This is a quick easy recipe to whip up and take to work. Thank you Mom! You are the best!!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert, Guest Post. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

