Pickle Powder Sugar Chicken–Say What?

How is that for a recipe? I can’t say it is mine, or my invention. I rarely come up with a recipe anyway – I just make or bake them. This one came from Iowa Girl Eats – I don’t know where she gets all her ideas, but she has great recipes and posts for sure!

She made hers a bit differently than I did and served them straight up with a dipping sauce. I made mine into a salad. Once the temp is above 60, I pretty much crave fresh veggies and salads. Below that, most likely, forget it. I just love a spring/summer salad though. But hey, since you are eating salad, you can make it a little naughty. I try to eat really healthy during the week, but kind of fall off that wagon on the weekends. (By the way, beer doesn’t count, it never does.) But this is kind of a feel good treat, maybe a Friday meal!

IMG_1388

This basically looks like a chicken tender salad, right? Not quite…

IMG_1381

Pickle Powdered Sugar Chicken adapted from Iowa Girl eats recipe:

2 large chicken breasts, cut into bite-sized pieces and seasoned with garlic salt & pepper

3/4 cup buttermilk (or milk would work too – I had this on hand but mixing milk with vinegar, aka pickle juice, equals the same thing)

1/2 cup pickle juice

1 egg

1 cup flour

2 scant Tablespoons powdered sugar

Seasonings to taste: Lawry’s salt and pepper, for example

1/3 cup vegetable oil, divided

Directions:

1. Whisk together egg, milk and pickle juice, and pour into a large ziplock bag or bowl. Add chicken pieces and marinate in the refrigerator for 4-5 hours.

2. Combine flour, powdered sugar and seasonings in a large Ziploc bag. Shake to combine. Remove chicken from the marinade and add into the bag. Shake to coat the chicken completely.

3. Heat half the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.

4. Gently place chicken pieces into the oil. Do this in 2 batches, as you don’t want to crowd the pan. Cook the chicken for 3-4 minutes, or until golden brown on one side. Turn the chicken over and allow to cook for 3-4 more minutes. Remove to a paper-towel lined plate. Heat the remaining oil and continue with the other half of the chicken pieces.

5. Serve with dipping sauce or on top of a salad!

IMG_1382

Winston thought these looked so good he passed right out. just kidding, sometimes he sleeps like this, on his back. I think it is so funny!

IMG_1383

I originally bought this salad mix because it was one sale. I thought it would be great for a weekend out camping for a quick throw together side. Of course, it didn’t last that long. The cover says – Just add lettuce!

IMG_1385

Included in the salad mix are cheese garlic croutons, tomato-basil pita bites, dried shallots and a packet of ranch dressing. We just added iceberg, spinach and some lettuce blend mix I had. It was good, but I think I would only purchase this in a pinch again. I couldn’t even detect the shallot taste. The tomato basil bits were good.

IMG_1384

The chicken nuggets easily came together. Just shake everything in a zip top back or covered Tupperware container. Make sure to heat your oil first on medium to medium high heat. A lid is nice to keep splatters to a minimum.

IMG_1386

Here is my first batch. Mr. FeistyEats and I can easily eat 2 chicken breasts, no problem. But served this way, we did have some leftovers! That is good. Be sure to drain them on a paper towel.

IMG_1387

Double this and that is what we got from two breasts. I preferred the dark, crispy pieces myself. They ended up being SUPER tender with a slight tang and the breading had just a hint of sweetness. At first, I was like, hmmm? But I really loved them after trying a few. Iowa Girl Eats say they are like Chick-Fil-A. I have never eaten there though, so I can’t say that for sure. I can say they are pretty addicting!

IMG_1389

We topped our salads with a little bit of that Ranch dressing that was included (I just really prefer the homemade buttermilk Ranch!) but we mostly topped it with a new to us find: Cattleman’s Carolina Tangy Gold BBQ sauce – so good! Sweet, tangy and a strong mustard kick! My parents got it in Arizona from their friends, like a gallon of it! I could see it dipped or topped on about anything, but especially chicken wings. Yum!

IMG_1390

Please, give this a try! I hope you like it! Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Main Dish, Salad. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

