Key Lime Fudge

I am on a key lime kick lately! It just screams spring – even if I might have seen a few white flakes flying through the sky yesterday. Brrr. Warm days are ahead though.

IMG_1336

I made this to share with a lot of friends and family over Easter. I had my Mom in mind as she like lime things.

IMG_1300

Key Lime Fudge via Cookies and Cups (note that I doubled this recipe to share with many friends over Easter and doubling it worked well also)

Ingredients

  • 20 shortbread cookies, crushed in your food processor (about 1 cup and about 1 package of Keebler Sandies)
  • 5 Tbsp. salted butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3 cups white chocolate chips
  • 1 (14 oz.) can sweetened condensed milk
  • 3 Tbsp. Key lime juice
  • zest of 4 Key Limes
  • green food coloring (optional)

How to Make

  1. Preheat oven to 350°
  2. Line an 8×8 pan with foil or parchment.
  3. In a medium bowl combine crushed cookies, melted butter and granulated sugar.
  4. Press evenly into prepared pan. Bake for 6-7 minutes until edges start to golden.
  5. In a double boiler melt white chocolate chips. When just melted remove from heat and stir in sweetened condensed milk and Key Lime juice.
  6. Stir in zest.
  7. *Optional, reserve 1/4 cup fudge mixture and with a small amount of green food coloring, tint the reserved mixture and set aside.
  8. Spread the un-colored fudge mixture into prepared pan. Then drizzle reserved mixture on top and swirl in with a knife.
  9. Place in refrigerator to set, 2-3 hours.
  10. Cut into small squares – these are rich. Keep in the fridge.

IMG_1302

I bet if FeistyCat Brinklie was human, she would like lime too.

IMG_1303

Be sure to zest your limes before squeezing the juice out. You don’t want the bitter white part, just the yummy, green zest. This stuff has some seriously good flavor. I could basically almost eat it plain.

IMG_1304IMG_1305

I don’t own a double broiler, but improvised and made my own with the kettle boiling water and a Pyrex dish above it to gently melt the white chocolate. It worked great.

IMG_1306

Juice your limes. It is hard to say how many limes you might need. Some are just more juicy than others. It does help to roll them around with your hand pressing down on it to quite literally get the juices flowing.

IMG_1307IMG_1308

I did take the chef’s advice and reserved a bit of the fudge and dyed it green for a little added oomph.

IMG_1309IMG_1310

Swirl it with a knife to make it pretty.

IMG_1311

Just keeping it real here – my kitchen is small and it gets messy quick. Here is 1/2 of my counter space. The other half includes the stovetop!

IMG_1312IMG_1313

And the pets are just keeping it real too. They usually nap all.day.long. So lazy, even when I am making lots of noise around them. Not so Feisty all the time. Smile

IMG_1334

Can I just tell you that the crust is really good? Cookies, butter and sugar? Yes, please! It was kind of a nice change to have a fudge with a crust. It also help cuts the sweetness a bit.

IMG_1335

I stuck my fudge in the freezer to firm up more quickly. The flecks of lime zest really help kick out the lime flavor. So yummy!

IMG_1336

Remember to keep your pieces small – this is a rich treat. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Key Lime Fudge

  1. I just made Key Lime Pie the other night, but Key Lime Fudge? Oooh looks and sounds delicious :)

Leave a Reply

