100 Cookies

100 Cookies! No, not one hundred baked cookies, but cookies with the name 100 cookies. I don’t really know where the name comes from. After you see the ingredient list, they should be called 1 cookies, or 1 cup cookies. Anyway, I remember this cookie recipe because my Mom and Grandma made these when I was younger. When I phoned my Mom to get the recipe, she said it was actually from another person from Sawyer, who is a great cook – so no wonder I remember these tasty treats.

IMG_1201

This is the last of my coconut recipes for now. I promise. I will say that of all of these recipes I posted with coconut in them are good, even if you don’t care for coconut too much.

IMG_1191

Oh hey! Pet picture time! FeistyCat was just chilling in the kitchen watching me bake. She is a really cute little cat. Since it has warmed up, she has tried to escape the house no less the one million times.

IMG_1192

100 Cookies
Recipe via my Mom, via Janice Schmidt

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup rice krispy cereal
  • 1 cup coconut
  • 1 cup oatmeal
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 3 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp soda
  • 1 tsp cream of tartar

Cream together the sugars and butter. Add oil, egg, vanilla and mix together. Sift together the salt, four, soda and cream of tartar. Add by 1/3’s to the wet mixture. Lastly, gently stir in the cereal, coconut and oatmeal. Bake at 350 for 11-12 minutes. Yield 5 dozen. Note about them getting hard: they can get hard if you let them sit for too long. If you like a crispy cookie, then this is fine. If you want to soften them up, just place a piece of bread in your cookie container. I am not a scientist and don’t know what effect is taking place there, but it works with pretty much any cookie.

IMG_1193

This is my favorite little spatula. I’m not sure if you can see in this photo above, but there are small part missing from the end of the spatula. Who knows where they are? Maybe in another batch of cookies or cupcakes? Maybe I licked the spatula too forcefully? Hard to say! Maybe I should get a new one?

IMG_1194IMG_1195

OK, here is the other thing. I don’t have a proper sifter either. What kind of self respecting baker doesn’t have some of these simple things? Some other things I don’t have I can think of would be a TEASPOON measuring spoon (WHY?? Luckily, I have a set on order from my Pampered Chef friend) or a cookie scoop. By the way, this strainer works just fine as a sifter!

IMG_1196

Mix the cookies together and taste test that batter. Yummy!

IMG_1197IMG_1198

Scoop even shaped balls onto your cookie sheet and bake for 11-12 minutes.

IMG_1199IMG_1200

Little pieces of coconut get toasted and the krispy rice makes for a really unique textured cookie. These are keepers!

IMG_1203

Crispy and chewy.

IMG_1204

Make and share with friends. Mr. FeistyEats says I bake too much (poor guy, right?!?), so I made these cookies with intentions of keeping one dozen and giving the others away. Here is a story of how dumb I am. The day I made these, it was a sunny, 70+ degree day. So, I got my bike out, put a few dozen cookies in my backpack and rode my bike about 8-9 miles around Hazen looking for someone I knew. It was so nice out, I would surely run into some people I knew. Ummm, nope. I just rode 9 miles with cookies in my backpack for nothing! I still ended up being able to share them with friends though. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 100 Cookies

  1. Great pictures! I’m excited to try them!

Leave a Reply

