Baked Pickles with Havarti Cheese

OK, a break from sweets! I have a few other dessert recipes to put up, but thought I would post this appetizer recipe first. Have you ever had fried pickles? I love pickles! And hey, deep frying just about anything is usually always good tasting. However, I do not own (nor do I want to) a deep fat fryer and no matter how good it tastes, I don’t really need those extra fat and calories.

IMG_1170

I have been wanting to make this recipe for a long time. I was inspired by Labby’s Bar & Grill in north Fargo, by the Fargodome. I went there about a year ago now, and a colleague was a bit hungry and ordered their fried pickles. Well, these were not like any fried pickles I had ever seen friends. These were long spears of pickles along with Havarti cheese, wrapped in an egg roll wrapper and deep fried until crisp. They. Were. So. Amazing. I knew I had to make these at home. Fast forward another full year…

IMG_1162

This is all you really need to make these appetizer. These would be great for a party to cut into bite sizes and pass around.

Baked Pickles:

  • Good quality dill pickle spears (I highly recommend Claussen – they are so good)
  • Egg roll wrappers
  • Havarti cheese (others would probably work well, such as mozzarella or maybe even Pepperjack)

Directions:

  • Drain pickles of juice.
  • Cut similar sized pieces of cheese and pickles.
  • Wrap and enclose in your egg roll wrapper. Use water to seal, if needed.
  • Brush your wrappers with oil.
  • Bake at 400 until golden brown. About 10-15 minutes.
  • Alternatively, you could deep fry these, or fry them in a skillet.
  • Serve with ranch dipping sauce, spiked with hot sauce.

IMG_1163

I cut the cheese (ha ha!) and pickles so they were uniform in size. Havarti is a great choice here as it is very buttery and mild – something that would make a good fried cheese nugget now that I think of it.

IMG_1164

Take a spear and slice of cheese and wrap in your egg roll wrapper. Be sure to seal it and that everything is closed up nice and tight so the cheese can’t escape when heated.

IMG_1165IMG_1166

I only made a few since it was just Mr. FeistyEats and I trying these. I could have baked them longer, but I was itching to eat these! One of my pickles was not wrapped properly and cheese did escape.

IMG_1169

On the left is an appetizer that stayed intact, on the right is one that exploded. Either way, these were so good. Be sure to drain the pickles first so you don’t have that extra juice to deal with. These tart, tangy pickles are such a treat.

IMG_1168

Serve these with (preferably) homemade ranch dressing. If you are up to it, spike your ranch dressing with Sriracha or hot sauce for extra added zip. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Baked Pickles with Havarti Cheese

  1. Thanks a lot! Now I might have to make a run to the grocery store to buy the ingredients for these! They look so good!!

  2. dofinousa says:

    Nice! I work with Dofino havarti, and we will DEFINITELY be giving this a try! Such a unique use of egg wrappers too.

  3. dofinousa says:

    Nice! We will DEFINITELY be trying this out with our Dofino havarti. Unique use of egg wrappers too.

  4. Lori Sharp says:

    It is Great! Best pickle wraps without deep frying. Try for superbowl!

  5. Shelli says:

    Yum! Making these tonight. I googled “baked pickle wraps” to try to replicate the Toasted Frog’s appetizer, and was pumped when I saw your blog was the second link in the list — hey, I know her! 🙂 Thanks for all the great ideas.

  6. Michelle says:

    making a dill sauce to go with it is AMAZING. Hotel Shoreham in Detroit Lakes fried pickles/sauce is delicious!

Leave a comment