Slushburgers

Have you ever eaten a slushburger? Maybe you know it better by a sloppy jo? Or barbecue? A slushburger is typically considered a Midwestern dish. In other words, good home cooking, comfort food. A few weeks back, I was going through a really tough time and Mr. FeistyEats was being really nice to me. I mean nicer than usual, as he is always really nice. Way nicer than me for sure.

IMG_0596

And, on this night, he was so nice, he had supper nearly done by the time I got home from work! What a nice surprise. I was unable to document this step by step, but I thought I could share the recipe he used.

Mr. FeistyEats, is, in fact, a great cook. He should really cook more often. He even has his own cookbook of various recipes (mostly for game or meats) and can make up any venison or bird dish you could want. Not that I have ever longed for slow cooked goose legs. But, I do like his more traditional recipes. He is the best! Just for giggles, here are a few of the recipes he has: Duck chili verde, shrimp chowder, pickled asparagus, smoked beef ribs, root beer liquor, smoked turkey brine, delicious duck, smoked goose, pheasant and wild rice soup, etc. Of course, all great food and stuff I would never make. That makes us a good mix, right?!

Slushburgers – I do believe he got this from his sister-in-law who is also a great cook

  • 1 lb. hamburger
  • 1/2 c. chopped celery
  • 1/2 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 8 oz. can tomato sauce
  • 1/4 c. ketchup (only use Heinz 57!)
  • 1/2 T. dry mustard
  • 1/2 T. white vinegar
  • 1 T. brown sugar

Brown hamburger with onions and celery. Drain if needed. Add remaining ingredients, simmer and serve on a hamburger bun.

This recipe comes together quickly and can easily be doubled to feed more.

IMG_0597

Typically, you eat this on a hamburger bun, put I put mine in a wrap with some cheese and it was served with mixed veggies and cottage cheese. Best meal of the week, by far!

IMG_0598

Thank you Mr. FeistyEats. You can make me dinner any night of the week!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

