Pumpkin Cinnamon Chip Cookies

Hi guys. OK, this will be a more proper post with the baking process and the actual finished product. Mr. FeistyEats said this was turning into a drinking blog! Drinking, in fact, is a big part of my life. I work as a bartender and it is my job to serve drinks. While I am not at work, I do like to go out and have a good time as well. Winking smile This past weekend we had two friends in town and while we were busy entertaining them; I didn’t have much time to cook or bake. I also worked both jobs on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday – making for 20-hour days and little sleep. So, I could have gotten up early on Saturday and cooked; but sleep definitely won out.

IMG_0131

Well, maybe not enough sleep. I decided to bake some fall cookies when I work up. This is me trying to take a photo of myself with my new apron on the my cousin gifted to me for my birthday. Nice job, huh, Sarah? I noticed after that the camera was zoomed in. Also, nice PJ pants and t-shirt from the bar job. Classy, as always. Let’s try again…

IMG_0133

Not much better. Take a shower maybe. Oh well, at least you can cook or bake in whatever you are comfortable in! I wanted to make these cookies for a few reasons, 1) PUMPKIN – fall will not last forever, 2) a former co-worker recently had a baby girl and I thought she’d like some cookies and 3) to give some to a friend who suggested a job that I am working at. Let’s do this!

IMG_0132

Pumpkin Cinnamon Chip Cookies based on this recipe from Tasty Kitchen. I love sites like Tasty Kitchen or allrecipes.com where you can view reviews and other peoples suggestions. I am always checking them out for things I might like. That recipe is a little different and I altered it for a few reasons. The original uses white chocolate chips and I only had cinnamon, but I knew cinnamon chips would taste great in these cookies. I doubled the recipe…I personally do not like recipes that use 1/2 a can of pumpkin or a half a bag of chocolate chips, etc. I like to use everything once I open it. And I wanted at least two dozen for the new parents, the friend who gave me the job tip and some for our guests and Mr. FeistyEats and I! Also, I don’t have pumpkin pie spice

Pumpkin Cinnamon Chip Cookies based on this recipe

  • 4 1/2 cups All-purpose Flour
  • 2 tsps. Baking Powder
  • 2 tsps. Baking Soda
  • 2 tsps. Ground Cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • ½ teaspoons Salt
  • 1 c. Butter, Softened
  • 2 c. Granulated Sugar
  • 1 c. Brown Sugar
  • 1 can (2 cups) Pumpkin Puree
  • 2 whole Egg
  • 1 bag of Cinnamon Chips (about 1 1/2 cups)

IMG_0135

Preheat oven to 350ºF. Whisk the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt in a bowl and set aside. Spilling on your counters or stove is optional.

IMG_0136

With your mixer, cream the butter and sugars. Then add in the pumpkin, egg

Using your mixer, cream the butter and sugars. Then add the pumpkin and eggs and combine. It looks pretty gross at this point, to be honest. Slowly add the dry ingredients and mix. Lastly, add in the chips. I noticed I totally skipped the vanilla that was in the other recipe. How did I bake something without vanilla? I didn’t miss it though – between the pumpkin and the spice it was just fine.

IMG_0137

At this point, things were looking REALLY good. I was a bit concerned because this dough was really soft and I wasn’t sure if it would work. It tasted really good though. I figured I’d give it a test drive and put some in the oven. I thought maybe by doubling the recipe I screwed it up? By the way, I have never baked with cinnamon chips before. They are SO good and very little and cute. I just loved them.

IMG_0138

Before going in the oven, just drop a few on a cookie sheet and pop them into the oven for 9-10 minutes. I like them just baked so they stay moist. One note, you might want to lightly spray your cookie sheets. Towards the end; I had some issues with sticking but nothing major. I am probably just impatient.

IMG_0139

They were nice and puffy coming out of the oven. Do you ever have those cookies that puff up and then deflate? Well…

IMG_0140

these ones did not. They stayed puffy.

IMG_0141

I like to let my cookies sit on the cookie sheet for 3-4 minutes, then transfer them to a rack to cool and then place them on newspaper to finish cooling. Notice the sweet chip and dip set my cousin also got for me. She is the best!

IMG_0146

Extreme close-up. These were very cake-like, moist and fluffy.

IMG_0144

Get in my belly.

IMG_0145

These were great and someone even asked for the recipe. That is an awesome feeling if you are a nerd home cook such as myself. I was stoked and I’m pretty sure Mr. FeistyEats thought I was on crack. Oh well! A few pet photos for any pet lovers…

IMG_0129

FeistyCat Brinklie on her perch yelling at some birds. Just kidding, she was in mid-yawn.

IMG_0142

Hi Winston! Keep your eyes open long enough for a photo.

IMG_0143

Which one is more lazy? I guess they take after their mother. But I better go think of some things to make for supper or I will have nothing to blog about this week…happy cooking!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cookies, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pumpkin Cinnamon Chip Cookies

  1. Stacey Rad says:

    I made these this weekend for Halloween, and they are amazing! It definitely makes a ton, but they’re all the things I love about fall baking.

Leave a Reply

