Monster bars

DSCN4198

Obviously, I like to cook and try new recipes. I am interested in things that are more wholesome and made a bit more healthy than the original version. But I am not a total loser. I mean, I like chocolate, boxed cake mixes and the occasional block of Velveeta. I am far from perfect. From all the desserts and dishes I have tried, I asked Mr. FeistyEats, what is the favorite thing of mine I make for him? He said Monster Cookies. That is such a simple recipe and I make them once a year when he goes off for the first weekend of deer hunting. I find it kind of funny. So as soon as I came across this recipe for Monster Bars, I knew I had to make them. I love sites like 1 Cup Awesome and Iowa Girl Eats. These folks make real food that is easily accessible and GOOD! These took mere minutes to mix up!

DSCN4191

If you read the original post, you see that this came together on an accident. Well, I love this accident. You mix everything in ONE bowl. I love baking that way.

Recipe via 1 Cup Awesome:

Monster Bars Ingredients
2 cups old fashioned rolled oats
1 cup flour
1 cup brown sugar, packed
3/4 cup butter, softened
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
14 oz sweetened condensed milk
1/2 cup chunky peanut butter (I used smooth with no issues)
1 cup mini chocolate chips (I used regular size)
3/4 cup mini M&M’s
Directions
Preheat over to 350° F.
In a large bowl, mix together all the ingredients, except for the M&M’s.

Pour mixture into a greased 9×13 pan or into a medium bar pan. We prefer to use the bar pan since it seems to cook the bars a little more evenly. In a 9×13, the bars are thicker and sometimes the outsides of the bars will be fully baked, but the middle of the bars will be undercooked.

Sprinkle the mini M&M’s evenly throughout the top of the bar mixture.
Bake at 350° F for 30 minutes.

DSCN4192DSCN4193

Mix everything except the M&M’s in one dish. Spread it into a pan. The directions called for medium bar pan and I wasn’t sure what that was. I guessed on this size and it worked out well. I agree with them above that a 9×13 might be too small. A jelly roll pan would be too big. Go for something in the middle of those two. Or just eat a LOT of dough and put in a cake pan! Be sure to spread the mixture evenly in the pan you use. Also, this has no eggs! I was surprised. However, that made it even easier to shovel huge amounts in my mouth sample the dough. I could eat this raw! Just freeze it. OK, back to normal now.

DSCN4194DSCN4195

Top with mini M&M’s and bake. If you don’t have mini’s I’m sure 1 bag of M&M’s would work. I bet Mr. FeistyEats would like peanut M&M’s on here!

DSCN4196

Whoa! You can see I came close to my batter going overboard. I think I could go a size bigger next time.

DSCN4197

BUT, it really didn’t matter. Once they came out of the pan and I tasted the chewy soft bar, it was all good. I love these. They are very similar to Monster Cookies.

DSCN4198

Man approved. Now go back these! Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Monster bars

  1. Hope says:

    Yum! Those look delicious. I think I am going to try to make them for Luke by replacing the 1 cup flour with his gluten free flour. I think it should work out really well. I will let you know!!

  2. Thanks for much for making our recipe and for your kind words about our blog!

  3. Pingback: Monster bars | Selekisrael

Leave a Reply

