Blooming onion bread

Wow – this is good. I wanted to devour this whole loaf of yumminess. Make this easy appetizer for your next get together or potluck. It takes minutes to put together and with the main ingredients being bread, cheese and butter you cannot go wrong. Let’s do it!

DSCN3738

Ingredients:

  • 1 loaf of sourdough bread
  • 1 block of cheese – I used Monterey jack, but the Colby pictured above would be good too. Whatever you like.
  • 1 stick of butter
  • Chopped green onions
  • Garlic powder

Here’s how to put it together.

DSCN3740DSCN3741

Melt the stick of butter and set aside. Take your bread and cut it into about 1 inch rows. But only cut it ALMOST all the way through. The idea is to have this be like a Blooming Onion you would get at The Outback steak house. Then flip your bread and cut it in 1 inch strips the other way. The 2nd set of strips are a bit difficult to cut, just do your best.

DSCN3742

You can see it got a bit janky and a few pieces fell out. Ain’t no shame, just roll with it. Place the bread on a piece of tin foil (you can grill or bake this). You will need to cover it when it cooks.

DSCN3743DSCN3744

Next, take your melted butter and use a pastry brush or grill brush to get the butter in each and every crevice. Then, place the green onions in the crevices. Use your hands to get towards the bottom.

DSCN3745

Finally, place your sliced cheese in every little nook and cranny. You don’t want to leave anyone out! Then cover and bake or grill at 350* for 15 minutes. After 15 minutes, take the top tin foil off and let it cook another 10 minutes or until all the cheese is nice and melted.

DSCN3750

Here is the finished product! Pull apart with your fingers and share with the group. So delicious, so easy.

DSCN3732DSCN3756

In non-food related items, I am currently living at my parents home with my pets. Yes, I am over 30 years old. Brinklie enjoys smelling the flowers and chasing anything that moves. She gets two pictures but Winston gets the big one. Hopefully, we will get into our new house July 22nd if things fall into place. I don’t want to talk about it much so I don’t jinx anything. Mr. Feisty Eats is still living in our camper at the Hazen RV park. It is actually pretty sweet there. They have free WiFi. There is no WiFi at my parents house so that is why you won’t see too much posting until we get more settled in. I’ll try to get a few up though.

DSCN3758

Winston is doing all right but I think he thinks we are on vacation. I have to keep him in his small kennel all day while I’m at work in Beulah. It’s big enough for him to stand and turn around in, but not much else. Luckily, my Mom gets off of work at 2:30 or so and can let him out to drink water and go to the bathroom. I have to leave the house at 7am, so he is still in there a while which makes me sad. It is only for a while more though. I usually get home around 6pm and try to take him out for a walk, run or swim. He seems to be sleeping a lot.

Hazen is gorgeous and I can’t wait to live there, meet people and get settled into a routine. Oh, and cook, bake and BBQ!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Dinner, Sides. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

