BLT’s

I’m sure you are all on the edge of your seats wondering how little Brinklie the kitty is doing. Yesterday she was spayed and had her front claws removed. I was against getting her front claws removed but you can’t win them all. Little Brinklie is home and adjusting well. I have never seen her so tired before and she has made a few odd meows. One sad (but kind of funny) moment was she tried to jump onto her kitty condo where she would normally latch on with her claws and she obviously missed and fell over and down a few stairs. It sounds bad, but she is OK and napping on my lap as I type this. She looks so funny with a shaved belly! I think even Winston was happy to see her and he gave her a few licks and kisses and didn’t rough her up. It was like he knew to be gentle with her?

DSCN2862

However, this was his reaction upon her arrival. Pretty indifferent! She has some pain meds for a few days and has been a total cuddle bug with me tonight. I kind of like that! I hope she recovers – the vet said 7-10 days!

DSCN2857

I had to get the kitty from the vet after work so it was an easy dinner tonight. The husband is working on putting another sump pump in the basement (he is very handy) and we wanted to see Kelly Clarkson and Jason Aldean on American Idol – so easy, peasy it was.

BLT – Bacon, Lettuce and Tomato

What a super simple supper but also, really satisfying! Here are my tips on making a great BLT.

DSCN2854

Hey, the pizza over isn’t just for pizza – it does a variety of jobs!

B – Bacon. I’ve said it before but I don’t care too much for bacon. I am probably one of the few meat eaters to say that? The husband helps with that one – he made venison bacon this year using some seasoning. This ‘bacon’ is thick cut and not as fatty as traditional bacon.

L – Lettuce. I prefer spinach over iceberg lettuce. I used to love iceberg lettuce but it really doesn’t bring anything to the table – spinach or a garden mix is better IMO. Just use a little mayo or Miracle Whip and some cracked black pepper is good too.

T – Tomato. I don’t know why but both the husband and I used to not like tomatoes but now we both eat them, even raw. My trick for these is to slice them with a serrated knife to the size you prefer. I like having tomatoes but I still like them sliced somewhat thin.

DSCN2855

Put all of these items on bread or toast. My other tip for making a killer BLT is to serve it on GOOD BREAD! I try to never eat white bread anymore. Of course, it happens sometimes but it just is not good for you and after you tastes others it is really boring. Not to get all kuck-koo on you but those loaves of bread that are on sale for $0.99/loaf are nasty and that cheap for a reason. There are so many better alternatives out there nowadays. Hornbacher’s has some great bread in their bakery (whole what Tunisian is my favorite) and there are some bakeries making fresh and healthy bread daily. My favorites are Breadsmith (close in proximity to my work) and Great Harvest. You can also make homemade bread if you have some spare time. We don’t eat too much bread and I do not have a problem shelling out more money for quality bread.

DSCN2856

For the record we used Rosemary Garlic Ciabatta from Breadsmith. TDF – to die for bread right there by friends. I didn’t have much to go on the side so the husband said to mix up this dip – cheesy bacon. I guess the BLT wasn’t enough bacon. It wasn’t that great really. Oh well!

I started my new gym today and so far, so good. I had a great, sweaty session at spin class. I love spinning so much. If you have the option at your gym I would recommend taking a class. You basically need no skill set other than to pedal your legs – no balancing required. Go for it!

And a few more pics of our patient…first the husband was limping around (had his knee scoped) and now the kitten is hobbling. Anyone have some mini-crutches or wheelchair for this girl?

DSCN2858DSCN2860DSCN2861DSCN2863

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Animals, Dinner. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

