Making fleischkuekle

Happy weekend friends! Saturday and Sunday are definitely my two favorite days of the week – no work and I get to spend all my time with the ones I truly care for and don’t have time to see during the week.

The husband and I had plans to go back to my parents house this weekend. The husband wanted to hunt turkeys and I would have caught up with my parents. Well, the flood put those plans on hold. We have had water in our crawl space every day for a week now. The husband had had to shop vac about 10-15 gallons out per day. This is in a part of the basement where it is not furnished and there is no sump pump. It isn’t a big deal but we have to keep watch on it.

Every weekend it seems like we go, go, go and now we have a weekend with nothing to do and we are bored. Go figure, right? Well, the husband had an idea to make fleischkuekle! Do you all know what fleischkuekle is? We will get to that in a minute.

Ever since I met the husband I have slowly been becoming more of a morning person. I’m sure he would laugh at that statement but now I am usually up by 9am at the latest on a weekend and before him it was more like noon and I’d stay up super late. I was up at 8:30am and the weather was nice. I was also wondering about the water situation so I got up and took Winston on a 1/2 hour walk and then I came home to ride my bike.

DSCN2715

I’m not sure of the distance but I rode for about an hour and it felt great. The husband was over at his brother’s house getting a small fridge because our garage fridge decided to quit working – anyone have a working fridge they’d like to giveaway? Smile He got home just as I was finishing my ride and I asked him to raise my handlebars, seat and give me some more air in my tires. At 6’ tall the standard settings weren’t cutting it. After he was done it felt like a new bike so I had to go on another quick ride and things went MUCH easier. I can’t wait until the flood is over so I can do some decent riding instead of back and forth on the one paved road by our house.

In other news, we are trying to leash train our cat. This has proven to be pretty hilarious. She is pretty little and has taken a long time to grow. We have had a harness for her since we got her, but just recently has she been able to fill it out. Whenever I take Winston for a walk, the husband says she meows and meows when we leave. I think she wants to be a dog. Now if I saw some person walking a cat on a leash I would surely laugh at them. But I think she wants to go for walks and I’m going to try to help her like any good Mom would do! A few days ago I put her harness on and tried to walk her on a leash which basically ended with me dragging her and then her running and hiding from me. We just left the leash on her and tried to get her used to it. She has had the harness on since that day and while the husband was working in the yard he hooked her up and she liked it. There was one scare when he turned on the air compressor and she about jumped out of her fur. Here’s to training my cat to be a dog!

DSCN2783

After a quick trip to get some supplies, the husbands’ parents came over to start making fleischkuekle. His brother and his brother’s 3 kids also came over – everyone was a great help! Fleischkuekle is basically a meat pie made with flat bread and is a traditional German recipe. I know this dish is a favorite in North and South Dakota but I’m not sure of its popularity outside of this area. I tried to find some neat facts on Google but didn’t get far which was surprising to me. When we were in Jamaica for our honeymoon they had something similar with a spicy meat mixture inside. I’m sure a variety of these meat patties can be found in every culture because you really can’t go wrong with fried dough and meat! These goodies remind me of Pizza Pockets all of us high school kids loved and devoured at Renee’s Corner Café. Ahhh, the good ol’ days.

Our family prefers to make several batches in one day as it can be a bit time intensive and a messy project. With all people helping though, things went quickly.

DSCN2784

We got everything assembled and ready to go. We were like a little factory line cranking these suckers out! I was in charge of mixing the dough, husband rolled it out, brother-in-law filled the pouches, father-in-law and nephew pinched them close and niece helped put them on trays to be frozen. Here is the recipe I used…of course by the last batch everything turned out perfectly…you know, just in time to be done. Grrr!

Fleischkuekle:
3 c. AP flour
3/4 c. cream
3/4 c. water
1 tsp. salt

Mix all these together adding more flour or liquid as needed.

DSCN2786

Filling:
1 lb. hamburger
1/2 lb. ground pork
1/2 c. water (helps the meat mixture spread easily)
1 tsp. pepper
1 tsp. salt
Finely chopped onion to taste

I sure there are a thousand different recipes or ways to make fleischkuekle. I know some people use sour cream in their dough or add garlic to the filling – you could really do anything you wanted to.

We make these in a tambourine (half moon?) shape and again, you could do circles, go bigger, smaller, whatever you prefer.

DSCN2785

Here they are all crimped and ready to be fried. Or, in our case, we laid them out in a single layer and froze them on parchment paper. After they are frozen you can throw them all in one bag – just don’t do that right off as they will stick together. We also stuck hot dogs in some of the dough to make – kind of like a corn dog type effect.

DSCN2787

The husband set up the deep fat fryer outside to test our creations. I would never fry these in the house – yucky smells! You could certainly bake these to make them a LITTLE more healthy or you could fry them in a pan with a little oil.

DSCN2789

If you can believe it this is the only photo I have of a fried, completed fleishkuekle! I either had flour everywhere or was busy tasting, I mean quality control. As you can see, it helps to have a beer while making these! Just make sure you fry or bake these to get the meat cooked thoroughly. These are simple, not so good for you and VERY tasty! These taste great dipped in ketchup. This is a fun project to do with friends or family. Happy eating!

I hope to be back tomorrow with a wonderful baked creation. I have had this idea for a few days and have been telling people about it. Today the husband said enough talking about it – just make them already! Ha ha, good point husband.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

